Mini strawberry tarts

I’m back to the blogging world! After ages I know 😦

But I have an excuse. I have finally moved! Shifted houses to a new area. And I survived that move somehow. Despite the fact that it was the most exhausting few days of my life that I hope I never have to repeat again.

So here I am sitting on the floor of my son’s empty new bedroom (I just can’t be bothered to buy his furniture yet) typing away. It’s hard to get back into the normal routine of things when you’ve still got boxes lying around waiting to be opened. So I’ve just been trying to take things one day at a time and relax.

I made these little tarts in the middle of winter and was really excited to blog about it. Mini desserts are all the craze now. Like who doesn’t love bite sized versions of their favourite little foods?

A while back me and Mr D bought a packet of sweet pastry cases. I think we were being ambitious and wanted to make something fancy together. For some reason that didn’t happen and the pastry cases stayed in the freezer. Then one day somebody brought us a whole bag of strawberries. Like lots of them. Huge, juicy, red strawberries. I knew they would all spoil in a few days so I decided to make a strawberry sauce.

That’s when I remembered the pastry cases in the freezer and voila!

This is overall a really simple dessert. The strawberry sauce is probably the only time consuming element and even that is something you could get from the store if needed. Or just use strawberry jam heated with some lemon juice to make a sauce. The rest of it consists of baking pre-made pastry cases, making a custard using custard powder (like super super easy to do) and then the sauce.

I must say that using fresh strawberries to make a sauce really turned out finger licking good. So much flavour and sweetness in that sauce. The mild custard together with the sauce was just delicious. Make. it. Now. Like tomorrow.

Ingredients
12 Sweet tart cases (I used PAMPAS)
For the custard:
Custard powder (I used Foster Clarks),
1 tablespoon sugar
2 cups milk
For the sauce:
450 grams strawberries, cut into slices
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 lemon, juiced
1/4 cup water

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 170 C. Place tart tins on a baking tray (do not remove foil). Bake for 12 minutes until just golden. Set aside.
  2. To make the custard: Place 2 tablespoon custard powder and 1 tablespoon sugar in a saucepan. Add the milk and mix well. Bring to a boil stirring continuously. Lower heat and simmer until custard thickens. Allow to cool.
  3. To make the sauce: Combine strawberries, sugar, water and lemon juice in a saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil and simmer for about 20 minutes until sauce reaches desired consistency. Allow to cool.
  4. Place 2-3 tablespoons of custard into each tart shell. Pour strawberry sauce on top. Serve warm.
Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

