Out and About: Brunches Part 1

Apparently I’ve been going out to brunch quite a bit lately.

Or so that’s what Mr D has pointed that frequently over the past few weeks – that I am becoming what he has termed as a ‘bruncher‘.

It should come as no surprise to people who know me that breakfast is my favourite meal of the day. I’m one of those people who wake up and spend half an hour or so thinking about what I feel like having first thing in the morning. Most of the time it ends up being just cereal or something plain abut I still enjoy it more than any other meal during the day. So you can imagine how much I love brunch. And amazingly it is also much easier to take a toddler out during the day for brunch than for any other meal. Go out for lunch – gotta worry about him missing his nap and getting cranky. Go out for dinner – gotta worry about his bedtime. But brunch is just perfect, I can leave after his morning breakfast and then we have a happy toddler for the next few others whilst mommy catches up with friends over lattes and fancy plates.

That’s when I decided to start a series of posts about brunching because let’s face it – there are a LOT of brunch spots in Sydney. We could do this all day and there would still be more places to eat at.

Unfortunately I never manage to take proper photos for my blog when I’m at brunch. So all I have here are random shots with half the food cut out or something. But still, better than nothing right?

The Picnic, Burwood:

The picnic burwood

The Picnic is an amazing place for brunch. Large and spacious, and there’s even a kids play area in Burwood park. Perfect for moms with little tots. The eat in menu has a bunch of great dishes, all pretty to look at. I ordered the Citrus Salmon which is basically house cured salmon on sourdough with poached eggs and some rocket with a citrus-y dressing. Not too bad, very light and refreshing, perfect for a hot summer morning. We also tried The Picnic Fave which is basically avocado and labneh on sourdough, and The Picnic Breakfast Board – lebanese inspired with zaatar, eggs, labneh, haloumi and sujuk. Apparently their specialty and prettiest looking dish is french toast covered in coco pops (‘Not so French’ toast) – something I would love to try out one day.

the picnic burwood

Circa Espresso, Parramatta

The first time I went to Circa, I wasn’t too impressed. Don’t get me wrong, the food is great but the place was just too small. It basically looks like a pop-up cafe between two buildings. And this is true because its been converted from a laneway between two buildings. That being said, it was difficult to find a place to sit with a gigantic baby pram and lack of umbrellas in the outdoor seating area meant that we were right under the sun. However, the French Toast that I had that day was phenomenal. With brûlée banana, mascarpone, and caramelised fruit this is hands down one of the best sweet breakfasts I have ever had.

Circa Espresso laneway

The second time that I went there, I was happy to see that they had expanded and invested in some lovely red umbrellas. And I remembered to take the small stroller this time. They were also nice enough to give us a table in the balcony which is a couple of steps away from the main street, hence my toddler was able to roam around happily without walking towards the street. I wanted to try  savoury breakfast so I ordered the Avocado Smash. It was amazing – definitely better than your average avocado on toast combo as it comes with feta, olives, tomatoes and chilli oil all on quinoa toast. We also got the Summer Bowl – a fruit and pannacotta combo. But I’m still thinking about that French Toast though.

circa espresso brunch

french toast circa espresso

Just two for today. More yummy brunch spots coming up soon!

 

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

