Peanut Butter Cookies

I’ve been absent from the blogging world once again.

peanut cookies

I know this happens way too often and I’m not proud of it. I blame the horrid winter. You see, I get most of my blogging done early in the morning when the sun is rising and my kid is still sleeping peacefully. Its the only time of day when I can start typing and the words pour out in order. Plus I can think a lot more clearly first thing in the morning. But the horrid winter made it so tempting to stay snuggled up under the covers and away from the cold. Hence away from blogging.

This morning I finally managed to break free of the warm covers, sit on my laptop, fight every ounce of desire to open a TV show and lie back in bed, and then open wordpress. Hooray!

Anyway, all that aside I’ve got a very yummy recipe for you today – peanut butter cookies! Probably the best and yummiest cookies I have ever made. I repeat – BEST and YUMMIEST cookies ever. Perfect for those without a sweet tooth because these cookies are actually quite salty so they have the perfect balance of sweet and salt.

mixing-peanut-butter-cookies

Very quick to make as well – all you have to do is make cookie dough, shape it into little balls and then flatten them. No need for a million cookie cutters.

shaping-cookies-with-a-fork

peanut butter cookies going into the oven

The recipe makes about 30-35 cookies. I’m pretty sure I finished them all in a few days. So I definitely can’t make these for a while.

Ingredients
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup crunchy peanut butter
1/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
egg
1 tablespoon vanilla essence
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups flour

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 170 C. In a mixer, combine butter, peanut butter, sugar, and brown sugar. Add egg and vanilla, and continue to mix.
  2. Stir together baking soda, salt, and flour in a separate bowl. Add the dry ingredients into the mixing bowl slowly, and continue to mix into a soft dough.
  3. Shape dough into 1-1.5 inch ball and arrange on a lined baking sheet. Slightly flatten each ball of dough with a fork (dip it into flour first). Bake 8-10 minutes. Allow to cool.
3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Bites | Bittersweet Haven

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

