Beef Roast with Gravy


Beef Roast with Gravy

Only one picture – sorry about that!

I cooked this dish a few months ago and for some reason I don’t have that many pictures. I guess while I was cooking, I didn’t think this one would make it to the writing page.

If you live in Sydney you will no doubt have noticed that WINTER IS COMING HERE. It has been freezing for the past few days reminding us of the fact that the 1st of June is just around the corner has gone by and now we’re going to spend the next few months in hibernation. Or at least I am.

I used to enjoy winter. Quite a bit. It was always a nice change to experience a few months of cold weather after years of desert heat living in Dubai. Once I moved to Sydney I didn’t mind the icy cold wind early in the morning as I walked to the train station to go to work or uni, on the contrary I saw it as an excuse to wear nice wintery/autumny clothes. And boots. Loved buying boots for winter.

However everything changes once you throw a toddler into the picture. Cold winter = staying indoors. Most of the time. Almost all the time since the sun goes down as early as 5pm. And  the rest of the time it is cold, rainy and drizzling, making it too difficult to go to the park or on a walk on most days. And staying home all day with a crazy toddler is not my cup of tea. So I usually try walks to the library or other indoor areas to kill some time whilst my kid is strapped to his pram.

Despite all the complaining the one thing that makes cold weather somewhat enjoyable is a nicely cooked hot meal. This beef roast recipe is one that I adapted after looking at a few different recipes on Pinterest. Most of them asked for a slow cooker or the oven but I decided to use the stove. So it took a while for the beef to become soft and tender and I had to keep checking the pot multiple times. The whole thing took a good 2 hours or so but the result was worth it. The only complaints I had was that the flavour of mustard was too intense and overall a bit too salty for my taste but once I tried it with the potatoes and some hot toasted bread rolls, it was really good. I made this near the end of summer but now that its winter already I’m sure it will be much more enjoyable.

Ingredients
1 1/2 kg beef chuck steak, cut into large chunks
1 tablespoon garlic paste
1 tablespoon ginger paste
2 teaspoons wholegrain dijon mustard
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
vegetable oil, for cooking
1 onion, cut into quarters
3 cloves garlic, crushed
2 carrots, chopped into large pieces
2 large potatoes, chopped into large pieces
1 packet gravy mix (enough to make up 250 ml liquid gravy)
salt, pepper

Method

1. Mix garlic paste, ginger paste, dijon mustard and flour together in a large bowl. Add beef chuck steak and toss well together. Ensure all pieces of the beef steak are well coated in the mixture.

2. Add 2 tablespoons oil to the frying pan. Fry the beef steak pieces for 2-3 minutes and set aside.

3. In a large pot, add 2 tablespoons cooking oil. Add the onions and garlic and fry until translucent.

4. Add in the potatoes and carrots and cook for 5 minutes. Make the gravy mix according to the packet instructions. Add into the pot and mix well. Bring to the boil and add more water (about 1 cup).

5. Allow the pot to simmer on low heat with a closed lid for about 1.5-2 hours until the beef is soft and tender. Check pot every half hour, stir and add more water if necessary. Taste and season with salt and pepper if needed.

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

