White fish with lemon butter

White fish. Lemon butter. This is one of those simple ones.

Cooking fish isn’t really my cup of tea. If you know me well enough, you would probably also know that I like to eat fish. Quite a lot. However, I seem to have less luck than usual when it comes to cooking, baking and even frying fish. That’s probably why I’ve only got one fish recipe on this blog (such a shame, I know!) – the Baked Snapper I published last year.

White fish

I found this recipe through Pinterest during one of my random browsing sessions whilst putting the baby to sleep. Yes, I do that. Please don’t judge me. I need to live! Anyway, who doesn’t love Pinterest, right? I think I waste quite a bit of time looking at things I won’t buy and recipes I won’t cook, but this super-duper-easy-lemon-squeezy recipe is called Lemon Butter Baked Cod (click for the original site where I got it from). This one is meant to be a baked fish recipe, but I just cooked it in a pan. It only has a few spices as well:

Spices for white fish recipe

So its basically add a few spices to flour, coat the fish fillet in butter/lemon, and then dip it in the flour and pan fry until cooked through. My almost 10-month old baby loved it too! I just flaked the fish into small pieces for him to pick up and eat. Speaking of babies, if you want to see recipes for baby food on this site, please let me know in the comments below – its something I’ve been thinking of for my upcoming ‘Baby section’ and would love to hear some opinions.

White fish lemon butter

Anyway here’s the recipe, enjoy!

Ingredients
1kg firm white fish fillet, such as basa fillet
1/4 cup butter
2 shallots, minced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon paprika
salt, pepper
dried oregano
oil, for cooking

Method

1. Cut fish fillets into serving sizes. Melt butter in the microwave, add lemon juice to the butter.

2. Mix together flour, paprika, salt, pepper and oregano in another bowl.

3. Dip fish fillets into butter/lemon mix, coating well on all sides.

4. Dip buttered fish into flour mix, coating well on all sides.

5. Heat oil in a frying pan. Add floured fillets and pan fry until golden brown on each side and cooked through. Cut a piece in half to check if cooked. Serve hot, with mixed vegetables.

4 thoughts on “White fish with lemon butter

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

