Crescent bread rolls

When I was 17, my dad bought me an unusual present – a bread machine. Probably not the most exciting gift you’ve ever heard of, but I was overjoyed because it was something I had been wanting for a while. I started baking when I was 13 and after all the cakes, cookies and cupcakes I wanted to try out something new. I had a book with interesting bread recipes but they required the usage of a bread machine. After getting that birthday gift, I was all set to start new experiments with baking breads.

Unfortunately my success with breads was never quite as good as that with my cakes and cupcakes. After a few disasters with new recipes (croissants, in particular!) I started to give up my quest for baking bread rolls.So the bread machine often lay idle, and was used only to mix dough whenever we needed something simple like rotis.

I found this recipe on Pinterest a while back and decided to try it out. They’re actually called Macedonian Dinner Rolls (get the link here). The pictures look amazing and so much better than my grainy shots (hard to spend time fiddling with photos when the baby starts screaming for attention in the background). The original recipe uses feta cheese as the filling, but I just stuffed the rolls with cheddar cheese and some with nutella (loved those!) and left the rest of them plain.

They turned out great! I couldn’t stop eating them and decided I will definitely be making these again.

crescent bread rolls

crescent rolls how to fold

Not the best photos as I warned you. But they taste way better than they look (even though I didn’t have any sesame seeds to garnish with). The rolls stay fresh for upto 3 days so go ahead and make a whole batch (makes about 24).

Ingredients

1 cup milk
1 1/4 teaspoons yeast
3 teaspoons sugar
1 tablespoon flour
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs, separated
3 cups flour
cubes of butter
sesame seeds (for garnish)

Method

1.Pour lukewarm milk into a large mixing bowl. Stir in the sugar, yeast, and 1 tablespoon flour. Set aside for 10 minutes.

2. Add the baking powder, salt, vegetable oil, egg whites and 3 cups flour. Stir with a wooden spoon or use an electric mixer with the dough attachment and mix until all the ingredients are well incorporated.

3. Knead the dough for 10 minutes. Cover the dough and let it stand for one hour.

4. Preheat oven to 180 C. Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface for 5 minutes. Roll the dough into a log and divide into 3 equal pieces. Take one piece (cover the rest with a kitchen towel) and roll it out to a size as big as a medium pizza.

5. Cut the rolled out dough into 8 equal slices. Place a tablespoon of cheese or any other filling close to the widest point of the slice. Start rolling the slice from the widest point to the narrowest point. Continue with the rest of the dough.

6. Place the rolls on a lightly greased baking sheet. Whisk the 2 egg yolks together in a small bowl. Brush each crescent roll with egg yolk.

7. Place four or five small pieces of butter on the baking sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the rolls are golden brown. Serve immediately or store in an airtight container.

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

