Welcome Baby Z!

Hello everyone!

So as you may or may not know, I recently gave birth to my little baby boy 😀

And because of that, I have decided to add a new section to my blog – a parenting/yummy mummy/baby section where I hope to write helpful posts.

I cannot believe how fast time has flown and that my little man is already three and a half months! Getting to know him has been an amazing experience for both me and my husband, despite those initial sleepless nights!

So to start off my first baby related post I’ve decided to show a few pictures of things that I made before the baby came along. One thing everyone tells you about having a baby is that time just flies out of your hands – it is so true. Any spare time that you manage to get in those first 3 months is spent either catching up on long lost sleep or doing baby related chores (mostly cleaning up). Hence I am glad I spent some time making random things while I was waiting for the baby to arrive. Not only have they been useful, but its nice to remind myself of things I could do when I had the time!

DIY Baby Burp Cloths

To make these burp cloths I looked at several blogs that I found from Pinterest and then used them to make my own burp cloths and wash cloths. These are super easy to make – all you need to do is some straight stitching and lots of cutting. You can find the link for the tutorial here.

Chevron burp cloths Chevron print

You can use any measurements that you like, so this is a great way to use up any scrap fabric lying around. Or you could buy cute chevron printed fabric like me. I bought some towel fabric as well and used that for the other side of the burp cloths. I also made a few smaller wash cloths. I can honestly say that in the last few months they have both turned out to be very useful. You can use the towel side to wipe up almost anything, and the printed side looks nice and pretty 🙂

Baby burp cloths Diy wash cloths Crochet baby blanket

I started getting into crochet and knitting during my train rides to and from both uni and work. Initially all I could make were scarves and small items like tissue box covers. I didn’t think I would have the time or patience to make an entire blanket but then I found this blanket on Redheart and decided to try it out. The entire blanket is made up of crochet squares – about 64 in total! So it was slightly less daunting to think of finishing one square at a time rather than an entire blanket.

Handmade blanket Crochet squares

 After finishing all squares, I joined them together and stitched a flannel lining as well to make it really warm.

Flannel lining for diy blanket

And on a final note, here’s a picture of Baby Z lazing around on the grass. This is before the horrid winter hit Sydney so probably our last outdoor activity for a while. Till next time!

Baby Zakariya

One thought on “Welcome Baby Z!

  1. Pingback: Baby Name Blocks | Bittersweet Haven and Other Random Stuff

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

