Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

Ramadan Mubarak to everyone out there!

While I know nobody wants to look at food right now, this post has been sitting in my drafts folder for quite some time and needed to be published! So apologies if I’ve just made your stomach grumble with this post.

Lemon blueberry cupcakes

Now this is the first time I’ve actually made something with blueberries. We’re not the type of people who buy a lot of fancy things like blueberries. I call them fancy because I don’t think they’re something that everyone usually buys. So when I bought 2 punnets of blueberries I decided right away that I wanted to try making yummy cafe-style muffins.

Lemons-and-Blueberries-1-1

I made these and took some to work and they were quite a hit. I was pretty much having two a day until I finished the whole lot ūüė¶

It’s become very cold in Sydney lately. I’ve finally been able to finish knitting a proper infinity scarf and couldn’t be more happier now that I actually get to wear it. I should probably write another post about all the knitting projects I’ve completed lately.

Back to the cupcakes. These cupcakes have a light, lemony flavour and a crunchy topping from the streusel. I would have preferred to make them slightly bigger and more like cafe muffins, and maybe I will do that next time.

Blueberry cupcakes

This recipe makes about 14-16 cupcakes.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen
2 cups + 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
pinch of salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
7 tablespoons milk
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon lemon zest
Streusel topping ingredients
2 tablespoons melted butter
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoon granulated sugar
1/4 cup raw sugar

Method

1. Prepare the streusel topping by mixing together all the streusel ingredients until the combined and mixture is crumbly. Set aside.

2. Toss the blueberries with 3 tablespoon flour in a small mixing bowl until blueberries are coated. Use a spoon to remove blueberries and shake off any excess flour. Set aside.

3. Whisk flour, baking powder and salt together in a separate bowl.

4. Beat together butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Add eggs, vanilla, milk, lemon juice, lemon zest and continue to mix until smooth. Fold in flour mixture with a spatula until just combined. Carefully stir in blueberries.

5. Preheat oven to 180 C. Line a muffin tray with paper liners.

6. Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full of batter. Sprinkle each cup with about 1 tablespoon streusel topping.

7. Bake in the oven for 20 to 25 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the centre of a muffin comes out clean. Allow to cool before removing from the pan.

3 thoughts on “Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

