Simple couscous

The name says it all.

So simple and yet so tasty. This recipe is perfect for those days where you’re just too lazy to get the meat out from the fridge or can’t be bothered to stay in the kitchen for too long.

Speaking of kitchens, how sad was it when My Kitchen rules ended 😦 ? The TV kings think that the show can be replaced with good old Masterchef but I still wish MKR had more than one season in a year.

couscous dish

I never knew what couscous was until I tasted it in a salad at a friend’s house. I liked the light, fluffy texture that it had and really wanted to try making it.

It’s the second time that I’ve cooked couscous and the only reason I didn’t get to blog about it last time was because I thought it was too simple of a dish. But as I’ve started being really busy at work since the beginning of the year (and ergo, my lack of blog posts!) these simple, yet fulfilling meals are what has kept me going.

Preparing couscous is simple and quick but it adds an exotic element to any dish. I like to have this dish as a substitute for white rice as it goes well with almost anything. I’ve added some chopped vegetables along with scrambled eggs to this couscous dish.

Apologies once again, for the grainy photos in terrible lighting! It’s such a shame I was not able to use the beautiful sunlight that fills our days during the lovely winter months.

Coucous

Ingredients
1 cup couscous
1 cup water
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 green chillies, finely chopped
1 tablespoon oyster sauce
1 large carrot, finely chopped
1 large zucchini, finely chopped
2 eggs
1 large tomato, cubed
salt, pepper to taste

Method

1. Make the couscous: Add water, salt and 1 tablespoon of butter to a saucepan. Bring it to a boil and then turn off the stove.

2. Pour couscous in and mix well. Cover the saucepan with a lid and let it sit for about 5 minutes. Fluff up the couscous with a fork and set aside.

3. Add the remaining butter to a saucepan and allow to melt. Add the chopped carrots, zucchini, tomato, chilli, oyster sauce and saute for a few minutes. Move to the side.

4. Break the eggs in a bowl and season with salt and pepper. Add the eggs to the saucepan and scramble them with a spatula. Mix in with the sauted vegetables.

5. Stir in the couscous and mix well. Season with more salt, pepper and chilli if required. Serve hot, with meat, fish or just with vegetables.

2 thoughts on “Simple couscous

  1. “I tasted it in a salad at a friend’s house”.. would that have been the party at Ruya’s place in January? 😛
    This looks very tasty, Tasmea. 🙂

    whatsabrinadid.wordpress.com

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

