Vegetable & Bean Hotpot

Mixed bean Hotpot

A few weeks ago on a shopping trip I bought a pair of canned mixed beans. It was one of those four-bean mixtures and I was initially going to use them in a salad that I wanted to make for a large group of people. However that didn’t end up happening and I was left with two cans of beans in the pantry.

The only time I’ve used beans is when I cook chickpeas or red kidney beans. I’ve never had to use mixed beans so I had absolutely no idea what to do. Then I saw a recipe on the back of the can and decided to try it out.

Vegetable and bean hotpot was the name of the dish. It was basically a bunch of sauted vegetables and beans cooked in a vegetable stock. I tried to add more flavour to it by using a few sauces and some extra seasoning that wasn’t on the recipe.

mixed bean veg hotpot
It was a relaxing day with beautiful sun outside and then I realised that its been a while since I’ve taken out the DSLR to take pictures of my food. I’ve become too lazy recently and just end up taking a few shots on my phone which I edit before publishing. But this time I actually tried to make use of the beautiful sunlight outside and even got the tripod out!

The shots weren’t as great as I had hoped but the hotpot dish is really good. Perfect for those cold winter months that will soon be upon us judging by the state of this extremely wet day. The extra chilli and black pepper was delicious with the sweet and sour taste of beans and tomato/vegetable broth. I reduced the broth for an extra 15 minutes until I barely had any liquid left. I thought that intensified the flavour and it turned out really good in the end. I loved eating it as a curry and also with soft white bread rolls. I still have another can of this four bean mix in the pantry and I am wondering if I should make this dish again or try something new?

hotpot

Ingredients
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 teaspoon garlic paste
1 teaspoon ginger paste
1 zucchini, thinly sliced
1 carrot, finely chopped
1 large potato, chopped
2 green chillies, finely chopped
2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 tablespoon fish sauce
1 tablespoon sweet chilli sauce
1 can (420 grams) four bean mix (legumes, chickpeas, kidney beans, lima beans)
3 tomatoes, chopped
salt, pepper

Method:

1. Saute onion in a large frying pan for 5 minutes or until translucent. Add garlic and ginger paste and saute for another 2-3 minutes.

2. Add the chopped vegetables and the three different sauces (oyster, sweet chilli, and fish sauce) and continue stirring for 5 more minutes.

3. Drain the canned beans and wash them before adding to the sauce pan. Add chopped tomatoes, vegetable stock, chillies and seasoning. Allow the stock to come to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for about 30 minutes or until the stock is reduced to the required consistency. Serve hot, with steamed rice or fresh bread rolls.

 

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

