Chocolate Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting

frosting with chocolate detail

When I was drafting this post last weekend, I remember listening to the heavy rain outside and thinking that summer must be almost over. However that does not seem to be the case anymore. Its way past the middle of March now and the sun has been blaring down at us more than ever especially this weekend. I was helping my parents move into a new place and it was just so incredibly hot outside. I keep eyeing all the winter fashion that has paraded the shops and now I’m wondering when I’ll get to wear anything like that. Don’t get me wrong, I do like summer but I can also get sick of it really quickly. And at the moment I am really looking forward to a colder weather.

Anyway, I thought I would celebrate the remaining few weeks (or more?) of summer with more cupcakes. Because let’s face it, I look for any reason I can find as an excuse to eat more cupcakes.

frosted cupcakes

This is a post I had prepared a while back but then I realised that both cupcake and frosting recipes are already on my blog. I don’t usually like reposting recipes that are already on my blog. But I really liked the chocolate detail that I added to these cupcakes and they were a massive hit at a dinner party a while back so I thought why not?

cupcakes

These cupcakes were made using the Γ“ne Bowl Chocolate Cake’ recipe. It is my favourite go-to chocolate cake recipe and it turns out to be perfect every single time. For the frosting I just made regular buttercream which is a mixture of butter, icing sugar and a little bit of milk. I melted some chocolate and used a piping bag to ‘draw’ little chocolate hearts and flowers onto a smooth piece of plastic or waxy paper. Let them dry in the fridge for about ten minutes and then slowly peel them off and place on top of the frosted cupcake. Its a bit tricky at first, and most of the pieces will end up breaking off. But keep trying and you will get there eventually.

buttercream frosting

chocolate cupcakes

chocolate cupcakes with butterceam frosting

buttercream frosting with chocolate detail
No recipes this time, just a few random pictures from my phone πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

