Baked Snapper

A savoury dish? After so long, you ask? What happened to cupcakes and sweet goodies?

I’m sure you’ve realised by now that its been a while seen I’ve posted up a savoury dish and I thought now would be a good time to balance out my blog posts. Its not that I don’t cook savoury food, I just never plan it properly and end up not taking good pictures of the food so it never shows up on the blog.

And don’t worry – cupcakes are on the way in another post šŸ™‚

So let’s get on with this baked snapper. I have to admit that I am a huge fan of the show ‘My Kitchen Rules’. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, its basically an Australian cooking show but its so fully loaded with drama and ‘villainous’ contestants that I find it widely entertaining for more than just the food. And every time I watch it I’m also inspired to try out random new dishes. For instance, every episode or so has a fish dish as the main and so after a weeks of watching the show I decided to try one out.

baked snapper

The recipe is more or less my own. I would say don’t judge the dish based on the horrid picture that I’ve provided. I just really wanted to put this up on my blog because it was something new for me and I thought it would be nice to write about it. Anyway, the fish didn’t taste as great as I had hope for, but everyone who ate it really seemed to like it. So I plan on trying it again, but maybe stuffing the inside of the fish this time, just to get more flavour into the fish. And maybe increasing the amount of marinade.

So I marinated a large snapper fish overnight with some garlic and ginger paste, salt, spices, soy and oyster sauce. Then I fried the fish in a large frying pan to get crispy skin. Well, I was trying to get crispy skin but I didn’t fry the fish for long enough and ended up with really weird looking fish skin. Then I popped it into the oven and drizzled some sauce over it and baked it for about 30 minutes.

This is a very rough recipe, so feel free to alter the ingredients according to your taste. Enjoy!

Ingredients
1 large snapper fish, washed and cleaned
For the marinade:
1 tablespoon garlic paste
1 tablespoon ginger paste
2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
1 tablespoon fish sauce
3 green chillies, chopped finely
1 teaspoon vinegar
1 tablespoon sweet chilli sauce
salt, pepper
1 large onion, sliced into rounds
1 lemon, sliced into rounds
For the sauce:
1 cup chicken stock
2 tablespoons sweet chilli sauce
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon vinegar

Method

1. Mix together all the ingredients for the marinade except for the onion and lemon, in a large bowl. Place the fish in a large baking dish and pour marinade over the fish. Allow to coat evenly. Refrigerate for 3-4 hours or preferably overnight.

2. Pour 2-3 tablespoons of cooking oil into a large non-stick frying pan. Wait for it to heat up and place the fish on the pan. Shallow fry both sides of the fish on medium until slightly golden brown in colour. Remove the fish from the pan.

3. Saute the onions in the same frying pan until lightly caramelised.

4. Mix together the ingredients for the sauce. Set aside.

5.Ā Prepare a baking dish large enough to accommodate the fish, lining the entire dish with foil. Place the fish in the baking dish and pour the sauce all over. Bake the fish in the oven for about 30 minutes or until well cooked. Garnish with onions and lemons.

Ā 

5 thoughts on “Baked Snapper

  1. Pingback: White fish with lemon butter | Bittersweet Haven and Other Random Stuff

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

