Pumpkin Dream Cake

For the past few weeks, Pinterest has been smacking me in the face with pictures of Fall baking and pumpkin related recipes. It was all orange, orange, orange everywhere.

pumpkin cake with icing

Of course I couldn’t get enough of it and spent more time than I should have looking through pictures of pumpkin pies, cakes, cookies and so many more. I’ve never baked anything with pumpkin before and I knew I wanted to try out something new. Even though it is currently fall in most parts of the world except of course, here in Australia due to the whole Northern-Southern hemisphere thing. Technically I should have been looking at spring baking but there I was obsessing over pumpkins.

Being bombarded with all those delicious recipes that looked so good, I started going on the hunt for pumpkin puree. Almost every single recipe asked for canned pumpkin puree. Unfortunately I wasn’t aware of the fact that we can’t seem to get canned pumpkin puree here in Sydney. At least that’s what I’ve heard, but if anyone has seen it somewhere please let me know.

pumpkin cake

When I couldn’t find canned puree, I realised I didn’t want to go into the hassle of cutting up an entire pumpkin and roasting it to make puree. So I was overjoyed when I came across a bag of chopped pumpkin in the deep freezer which I had cut and saved the extra pieces a while back. All I had to do was put them in the microwave with some water for about 3-4 minutes until they were soft enough to blend into a pulp.

The cake turned out absolutely delicious. It was moist and had a great pumpkin flavour that was subtle yet still there. I used a simple glace icing to add some extra sweetness and even threw in a little cinnamon powder for flavour. The best thing is that this cake is so moist that you can even keep some pieces in the refrigerator and they taste great every single time.

iced pumpkin cake

fresh out of oven

dream pumpkin cake

This recipe has been adapted from The Novice Chef.

Ingredients
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon powder
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 cups sugar
3 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
450 grams pumpkin puree (canned or fresh)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 cup milk
Icing
100 grams icing sugar, sifted
1 tablespoon water


Method

1. Preheat the oven to 160 C. Grease a 9-inch square or round cake pan and set aside. Mix together flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside.

2. Cream together butter and sugar using a mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in vanilla essence, pumpkin, and vegetable oil. Beat in the flour mixture alternatively with milk.

3. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before icing.

4. For the icing: Mix icing sugar and water in a large bowl until completely mixed. Pour icing on top of the cake and spread evenly. Allow ten minutes to harden. Store in the fridge until ready to serve.

One thought on “Pumpkin Dream Cake

  1. When my nani was staying with us I made a cinnamon scroll cake with vanilla glaze (icing sugar, water and vanilla extract) and my grandma just loved eating the leftover glaze. She loved sweet things. This cake looks nice – it has a pleasant orangey look to it.

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

