Cream Cheese Brownie Cupcakes

The one and only time I can remember making brownies with cream cheese was long before touch screen phones had dominated our lives. I had followed a recipe from a huge hard cover recipe book because at that time following a recipe from your phone was all but impossible and so a good book or pen and paper did the trick.

I remember that those brownies were the best I had ever tasted. I wasn’t aware that they were meant to be cream cheese ‘swirl’ brownies so I just mixed the cream cheese batter in with the chocolate brownie mixture. The result was absolutely delicious in ways that I cannot describe. I also can’t describe why I never made them again. Probably because the high fat content of cream cheese just puts the idea away from my mind.

cream cheese choco cupcakes

I came across this recipe few weeks ago on Joy of Baking. Its actually called ‘black bottom cupcakes’ but I wanted to make a swirly type. The recipe is made up of a combination of rich chocolate brownie and creamy cheesecake where the bottom of the cupcake is the chocolate base which is then filled with cheese cake mixture. So there are two parts to making these cupcakes. First is the cheesecake filling which is simply a beaten mixture of full fat cream cheese, white sugar, an egg, and a little vanilla extract. The second part is the chocolate cake which is also very easy to make and tastes pretty good as well. Once you’ve made the two batters, just fill cupcakes liners to about half full with the chocolate batter and then fill with cream cheese filling to about three quarters full. Add an extra spoon of chocolate batter and use a knife to swirl and mix the cupcake.

I must say that the chocolate batter wasn’t as great as I had hoped. It tasted good, but I missed the moist, rich flavour of chocolate brownies that I usually make. I think next time I might try this recipe with the One Bowl Chocolate Cake as the chocolate batter.

Moving onto other topics, I’m finally counting down the last 3 weeks of university, and completely ignoring the fact that these will probably be the three worst weeks of the year. Trying to do the whole ‘glass is half full thing’. Or more likely I’m just in denial which is probably why right now I’m sitting in class and writing a blog post rather than completing the ten million assignments that I have due :). What are your plans for the end of the year? Do let me know in the comments below!

cream cheese brownies

making cupcakes

cupcakes

Recipe: Makes 12 large cupcakes

Ingredients
Chocolate batter
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
1 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Cream cheese batter
250 grams cream cheese, room temperature
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 vanilla extract

Method

1. Prepare the chocolate batter: In a large bowl, sift together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl mix together water, vegetable oil, vinegar and vanilla extract. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix together until a smooth batter is achieved.

2. Prepare the cream cheese batter: Beat the cream cheese with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the sugar, egg and vanilla extract and beat until creamy and smooth.

3. Preheat the oven to 180 C. Line a muffin tray with paper liners.

4. Fill the muffin cups with chocolate batter until about 1/2 full, and then add cream cheese filling until 3/4 full. Finish with a teaspoon of chocolate batter and then use a knife to swirl the two batters together.

5. Bake for about 25 minutes or until the cream cheese filling has set. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

