Out and About: San Churro and a recipe for Kofta Curry

Winter is here.

san churro

I might be one of the very few people who actually like Sydney winter. Don’t get me wrong- it is really cold, I keep running out of fluffy socks to wear, and I’ve been stuck wearing the same pair of boots for the past 2 months, but I still really like winter in this city. For starters, you can always count on the sun to come out during the day unless it is a particularly cloudy week. And there’s nothing better than feeling warm sun on your face after a freezing cold night. I guess what I mean is, we have a better winter than most Western countries. We get ample sun, it doesn’t snow and even though it gets really cold, you can still go out most of the time. Furthermore, I’ve always hated the extreme heat. That’s probably the only thing I will never miss about Dubai.

So yes, back to winter. Hot food, hot chocolate, trendy knits…you can see why I like this season.

We happened to walk past San Churro on a busy, cold winter night. I’ve heard quite a bit about San Churro- its basically a chocolate cafe but they make yummy churros which I’ve started to really like. I’m not a huge fan of chocolate but the smell and warmth of a chocolate cafe certainly has a way of drawing you in when its raining outside. We popped in to have a look and ordered fondue for two and two hot chocolate drinks. I ordered a ‘peanut butter bomba’ and hubby ordered an ‘aztec chilli hot chocolate’ or something like that. All their drinks seemed to have delicious and appetising names.

Unfortunately the hot chocolate was too thick for our liking and we barely touched it! It was too thick to drink and I guess you needed to use the spoon and drink it in sips which I found a bit weird. The experience has totally ruined hot chocolate for me. I did, however, enjoy the fondue. The churros were delicious and being able to dip in milk chocolate made them all the more enjoyable. I would go back for that fondue and those churros. 

fondue for two

And that makes me wonder if I should try making churros someday? Cinnamon and chocolate do make a great combination.

As you might have noticed, I’ve decided to combine two posts into one today. Mostly because they both seem to be about winter and winter food. And also because now that I’ve done it I can’t be bothered to change it back! So here’s the recipe for today- kofta or meatball curry.

kofta

One thing that I find really annoying about winter is the lack of sunlight hours. I hate taking pictures for my blog without bright sunlight because I feel everything looks so much better in natural light. But every time I cook something, its already close to sundown and I have to rely on artificial lighting. It makes me too reluctant to take out the DSLR and instead I’ve just resorted to using my phone.

I’ve made this kofta curry twice already this week. The wonderful smell is enough to fill my stomach, as it is very fragrant. I used minced beef but I’m sure this would taste great with lamb and chicken as well. I’ve used some spices and quite a bit of chilli so if you like something milder, make sure to adjust the quantities to your liking. Serve with warm rice or hot bread and watch all the meatballs disappear one by one!

Ingredients
For the meatballs
1 kg beef, minced
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 bunch each, coriander and parsley leaves, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon red chilli powder
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
3 green chillies, finely chopped
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
For the gravy
1 large onion, finely chopped
1 teaspoon garlic paste
1 teaspoon ginger paste
1 tomato, chopped
2 teaspoons sweet chilli sauce
1 teaspoon red chilli powder
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
1 teaspoon coriander seeds
1 teaspoon garam masala
2-3 cups hot water
salt, black pepper

Method

1. Prepare the meatballs. Add all the ingredients and mix well together. Roll the mince into little balls and set aside.

2. Heat oil in a frying pan. Deep fry the meatballs until golden brown in colour. Allow to drain on paper towels.

3. Make the gravy. Add oil to a hot frying pan and stir fry onions, garlic and ginger paste and chopped tomatoes for two minutes. Add the spices and cook for 2-3 minutes. Pour in water and allow to boil and simmer for 5-10 minutes.

4. Add meatballs to the curry, cover and cook until tender and the gravy has thickened slightly (about 10 minutes). Serve immediately.

4 thoughts on “Out and About: San Churro and a recipe for Kofta Curry

  1. I have recently gotten into the whole cooking/baking thing. I will give it a try this weekend. Seems pretty easy! I’ve read couple of your other blogs. Honestly, it makes me want to start a blog of mine own 🙂 keep ’em coming!

  2. The photos are deelish! I like the look of your kofta curry. The other day at Coles I was lamenting the lack of halal frozen meat products because I am obsessed with meatballs and different ways to eat them. So making my own has found it’s way onto my to-do list.

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

