Coffee Cookies

Coffee cookies on a plate

“If the world comes to an end, I’m going to want cookies”

And some cheesecake. And possibly kit-kat as well.

I just had a look at the last time I touched this draft and the date says 22nd February! So I had planned to finish writing this post by the end of February or beginning of March at the latest. But here I am almost at the end of the month and with a quarter of the year gone.

Coffee granules

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve finally started full-time uni again this year. Back to looking for classes, dragging books around and trying not to miss the train for that early class. And while its been challenging to get back into ‘study mode’, I’m still very happy to be back to where I belong. Sounds a bit too optimistic? Oh well, it is still the beginning of the semester. Maybe I should stop talking and get back to you at the end of the year.

My parents also came to Sydney this month for a short visit. It was actually the first time they have come to see me since I got married, so it was a great two weeks having them over. Of course I got absolutely no work done. All I seemed to do was rush to class, come back, drop my books onto the table and leave them untouched until the next class. And so on for a few weeks. I’m not even going to go into what that pile looks like now.

More coffee cookies

Enough talk. Let’s get on with these cookies. I made them a few weeks ago from a recipe book. They were originally meant to be Coffee Pinwheel Cookies  where I was supposed to make two separate cookie doughs, one with coffee and the other without, and then roll them together into a log. But I accidentally mixed all the ingredients together and this is what I ended up with. I would recommend adding a bit more than a pinch of salt because I really liked the taste of salt mixed with the coffee flavour. I’m not too sure why, but this recipe doesn’t use a lot of sugar so you can actually notice the salt.

Coffee cookies 1

Coffee cookies

Ingredients:
1 2/3 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons instant coffee granules
2 teaspoons milk

Method:

1. Mix the flour, baking powder, and salt in a bowl. In a separate bowl, beat together the butter and sugar with an electric mixer at medium speed until creamy.

2. Mix in the dry ingredients and coffee granules and knead until a soft dough is formed. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap  or cling film and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

3. Preheat the oven to 180 C and grease two cookie sheets.

4. Roll the dough on a lightly floured surface into a cylindrical log about 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Slice the cookie dough 1/4 inch thick and place 1 inch apart on the prepared cookie sheet.

5. Bake until just golden, 12-15 minutes. Transfer to racks to cool.

2 thoughts on “Coffee Cookies

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

