Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

chocolate chip cookies

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies.

What a mouthful.

Chocolate Chips + Oatmeal + Cookie = YUMMY!

Two of my favourite cookies combined in one. Match made in heaven. You get both the chocolate taste and the crunchy chewiness of the oatmeal. And that is what I love in a cookie.

choco chip oatmeal cookies

My love for cookies goes a long way back. The first recipe book I ever received was a gift from my dad when I was 13 years old and it was called ‘COOKIES’. One word says it and to this day that is still my favourite recipe book and I’ve probably tried out every single recipe from it in some way or the other. Today that book lies on my shelf back in Dubai because when you move countries, its kind of hard to bring every single thing you own with you. Despite how much you want to.

From my personal experience, I think baking cookies is one of the easiest things to do if baking is something that you are new to. To start with, cookie batter is a lot easier and quicker to make than cake or cupcake batter. This is especially true for ‘drop’ cookies where you don’t even need to make cookie dough, just a soft batter which can be ‘dropped’ in the form of little balls onto the baking tray. And then there’s no need to sift flour, no need to mix a batter forever to achieve good consistency, doesn’t that already sound so much easier? Furthermore, cookies also require the least amount of time to bake- not usually more than 15-20 minutes for a batch. That’s another good point right there; baking in batches gives you enough chances to alter the second and third batches if the first batch doesn’t turn out so good. That at least gives you the chance to produce a few good cookies!

chewy chocolate chip oatmeal cookies

choco oatmeal cookies

So if baking isn’t your best skill, try out a drop cookie recipe. And by drop cookies I mean cookies like this one where you don’t need to make a ‘dough’. Just a batter which can be ‘dropped’ onto a baking sheet and baked for a few minutes. I only baked them for about 10-12 minutes so they were still really soft when I took them out of the oven. In fact, they were too soft to lift so make sure you leave them on the baking tray for about a minute or two before using a spatula to lift them up. If you want harder, crunchier cookies then just bake them for a few extra minutes.

chewy cookies chocolate chip

I’ve had crazy week of baking- already made a few batches of these cookies, another batch of Coffee Cookies (coming soon) and lots of banana cake, cupcakes and even a banana bundt cake (wondering if that should be a post as well?). It’s all my way of ‘celebrating’ my last week of freedom before I get back into the world of chaos that comes with academics. If you’re wondering what I’m on about, I’m starting my Masters pretty soon and I’m really excited about it! Its going to be a busy year but don’t fret; I’ll always be around with more cookie recipes.

chocolate chip oatmeal cookies

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup dark chocolate chips

Method

Preheat oven to 175 C. Grease two cookie sheets and set aside.

Using an electric mixer, beat together the softened butter and sugar on medium speed until smooth and creamy. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until well combined.
Mix together the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a separate bowl. Add this flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat until combined. Stir in oats and chocolate chips.
Using a round tablespoon, scoop the dough into balls and place on baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Bake them for about 10-12 minutes, or until the cookies are slightly browned around the edges. Allow to cool for 1 minute on cookie sheets, then remove to wire rack and allow to cool completely.
2 thoughts on “Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

