Oreo Cupcakes

oreo frosting

Moist chocolate cupcake. Baked with an Oreo cookie inside. Frosted with Oreo cookie cream, with an extra Oreo cookie placed on top. Too many Oreos? I don’t think so.

chocolate cupcake

This is what I was planning to bake for my birthday two weeks ago after deciding that I was spending way too much time drooling over Oreo Cupcakes on Bakergirl‘s blog. I really do love that site.

chocolate cupcake batter

oreos getting ready

making oreo cupcakes

Unfortunately the week of my birthday just happened to be really busy. We were scheduled to have a huge gathering of family friends at our place the Saturday after my birthday. So the entire week was more or less spent grocery shopping, cooking and of course, cleaning the house. It was just too difficult to get that extra 2 or 3 hours of free space in the kitchen. And then I realised that the Oreos I had bought were gone. They had been confiscated by my husband and when I say confiscated I mean, he found them and ate them. So I had no more Oreos. No Oreos = no Oreo cupcakes.

oreos in cupcake liners

But of course I couldn’t stop thinking about them and finally made a batch last week.

OMG. I have never tasted anything so good. I stored these cupcakes for almost four days and they were still as soft and moist as they had been on that first day. Definitely a keeper. I took a few over to a friend’s house when I went to see her newborn baby. And the rest I shared with the family.

And yes, they are baked with an Oreo at the bottom.

pouring the batter

ultimate chocolate cupcake

cupcakes ready for oven

In a previous post (One bowl Chocolate Cake) I made a comment about how any chocolate cake made with hot, strong brewed coffee tastes absolutely amazing. The coffee really helps to bring out the flavour of the chocolate and also gives you a moister cake or cupcake. So this is a really good chocolate cake recipe as well, and can be made on its own without adding the Oreos. Although why anyone would want to get rid of Oreos is something I will never understand.

oreo cupcake with oreo frosting

Oreo Cupcakes

I had a little disaster with the frosting. At my first attempt I over-whipped the cream and ended up with something that looked like clumps of butter. It was really gross and I didn’t know what to do with it so I whipped up another batch. The second batch turned out alright but I don’t think I will be using the same brand of whipping cream again as it kept separating into water while I was piping the frosting. Long story short, I still don’t know how to use frosting properly. The recipe below uses whipping cream whipped into stiff peaks but I personally think I would have preferred making a regular buttercream frosting and adding some crushed Oreos for flavour. A word of advice: be sure to crush your Oreos finely before using a piping nozzle. Any big bits of cookie can easily get stuck and block the nozzle resulting in a horrid mess. Happened to me three times before I realised what was wrong!

ultimate chocolate cupcake

Recipe: Makes 15 cupcakes

Ingredients:
15 Oreo cookie halves with cream filling attached
100 grams milk chocolate, finely chopped or softened
1/3 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup hot, strong-brewed coffee
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 pinch of salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
6 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Frosting:
1 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons whipping cream
3 tablespoons icing sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 tablespoons Oreo cookies, finely crushed
15 Oreos for the top of each cookie

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180ยฐC and line a muffin pan with cupcake liners. Twist the Oreos in half and place the side with cream filling in the bottom of each cupcake liner, cream-side facing up. Set aside the extra cookies for later.

2. Place the chocolate and cocoa powder in a bowl and pour the hot coffee over the mixture (To make hot, strong brewed coffee, dissolve 2 teaspoons of coffee in 1 cup of hot water). Whisk the chocolate, cocoa and hot coffee until smooth and transfer to the refrigerator to cool completely, about 20-30 minutes.

3. Whisk flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda together in another bowl and set aside.
4. Whisk together oil, eggs, vanilla, and vinegar into the cooled chocolate mixture until smooth. Add the flour mixture and whisk until batter is smooth.
5. Pour the batter evenly into the lined muffin pan, filling each cup almost 3/4 full. Bake until cupcakes are set and firm to the touch, about 20 minutes. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

6. For the frosting, combine the whipping cream, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment,. Beat on medium-high speed until the whipped cream holds stiff peaks. Gently fold in the cookie crumbs with a spatula.

7. Scoop the mixture into a pastry bag and pipe on top of the cupcakes. Garnish with Oreo cookies.
Adapted from: Bakergirl (Oreo Cupcakes)
10 thoughts on “Oreo Cupcakes

    • I don’t think thats odd, it makes sense actually. Anything with a little bit of Oreo tastes so much better than by itself! Thanks for commenting, and no worries ๐Ÿ™‚ happy to help

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | myfoodmywayblog

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

