Out and About: Pancakes on the Rocks

Birthday post! If you’ve been stalking me on Facebook/Twitter/Instagram (as I have such a grand life and all) you might have heard that once again, I’ve had another year added to my life. Or taken away from my life. Depends on whether you look at growing older in a glass -full or glass-empty kind of way.

I think its great that birthdays are, well, an annual thing. I know that’s true for many other occasions- anniversaries, Mother’s Day, Valentine’s Day etc, but birthdays always have been, and will continue to be special.

To celebrate my birthday, hubby decided to invite a few of my friends to lunch at Pancakes on the Rocks. Not only because its my first birthday here in Sydney, but because I’ve been eating his head about Pancakes on the Rocks. I’m sure you know me well enough by now to figure out why I’ve been dying to go there. And I don’t really have a clue as to why I haven’t been there in the past nine or so months that I’ve lived here. I would keep hearing about how great it was from everyone and yet, never managed to set foot in that place.

Pancakes on the rocks

Long story short, I was joined by a group of lovely ladies on a fine Sunday afternoon. The North Strathfield branch is a lot closer to where I live and I was really impressed by the place. It’s nice and spacious with those high ceilings that I love so much. And their menu is pretty impressive; you get more than just pancakes to choose from. I have to admit I had a moment of panic earlier on when I said to my husband ‘It’s called PANCAKES, what are my friends going to eat for lunch???’ There were savoury crepes, pizza, various brunch and breakfast options. And of course, a mouth-watering range of pancakes.

pancakes on the rocks north strathfield

THE FOOD:

I’m going to try and remember everything that we ordered but I’ve probably missed a good few.
From the savoury crepes we had Greek Delight (Spinach and Feta Cheese Crepes) and Seafood Crepes.

Crepes - Greek Delight

Crepes – Greek Delight

Potato Au Gratin

Potato Au Gratin

Potato au gratin- potato and onion pancakes.

I really liked the starters that we ordered. We got two plates of ‘Bread Crusts’ which I thought would be something small like garlic bread. I had no idea they were almost the same size as a mini pizza! There were six pieces but I wasn’t quick enough to get a shot before a pair went aloof.

Bread Crusts - Margherita

Bread Crusts – Margherita

Bread crusts - Sundried Tomato & Parmesan

Bread crusts – Sundried Tomato & Parmesan

Dish of the night: Grilled Eggplant Pizza. Definitely the best thing I’ve ever tasted. It was the only pizza we could order from the menu since it was the only vegetarian option. I would never have believed that eggplant could taste so good on a pizza.

Grilled Eggplant Pizza

Grilled Eggplant Pizza

Nachos

Nachos

Of course we ordered Nachos. Who wouldn’t?

Time for the pancakes! So all together we ordered three pancake dishes. Because first of all, they’re HUGE. Each plate has only two pancakes but they’re really thick and most of them come with ice cream and additional sides. So we got Strawberry Patch, Blueberry Heaven, and the one I ordered- Devil’s Delight.

Strawberry Patch

Strawberry Patch

Blueberry Heaven

Blueberry Heaven

devil's delight chocolate pancakes

Devil’s Delight

Devils delight- chocolate pancakes with strawberries, ice cream, chocolate ice cream and chocolate sauce drizzled on top.

With a birthday candle as well 😀

Did I finish the entire thing? Of course not, I’m only human. With a reasonably sized stomach. There’s only so much that I can shove down there. And it had was a bit too rich with all the chocolate in it. On the other hand I really loved the Blueberry Heaven pancakes and would want to try those again. On second thought, I should try making blueberry pancakes sometime. Buttermilk pancakes are always the way to go for me.

My actual birthday wasn’t until three days later. But I had a great time being the birthday girl for the day. Here’s to hoping I get many more special days like this one.

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

