Choc-vanilla Harmony (my recipe in another magazine!)

Happy New Year!

More like, Happy extremely late New Year. Unfortunately jet lag has gotten a very strong hold of me and I can barely seem to get anything done without dozing off upright.

So I’m going to make this a very short post. Basically, I’ve been lucky enough to get a recipe published in a magazine in the UK! It’s called SISTERS Magazine and a good friend of mine helped me out and long story short- I now have an article published in a magazine. I wrote out a recipe for the delicious chocolate marble cake I made a while ago but never got around to writing a post about it.

I’m not sure where this leads me but all I can say is I certainly hope I get to do more things like this. Great start to the new year, wouldn’t you say?

choc vanilla

Anyway, I’ve attached the pdf of my article, but here it is, copy-pasted for reading convenience. Don’t forget to comment and let me know what you think!

One of the oldest arguments in my house has been the war between chocolate and vanilla. My parents have never been huge fans of chocolate cake, chocolate cookies or anything that looked, tasted, or smelled like chocolate in any way. A slight whiff or taste was enough to make them put down (politely of course!) whatever yummy tidbit they were unfortunate enough to have tried. Being fond of baking from a young age, my adolescence consisted of countless attempts at sweet treats whose flavours jumped back and forth between chocolate, vanilla, or most of the time, something else entirely.

That’s how marble cake became a staple at home. It originated from boxed cake mixes when my baking skills weren’t as evolved, and over time the tradition lingered because I didn’t want to upset the delicate balance by trying out my own marble cake recipe. It took six months of living away from home after getting married for me to try making marble cake from scratch, and I must say it is absolutely delicious, with just the right mix of chocolate and vanilla to please that confused palate.

Which begs the question, if I could have only one side forever, chocolate or vanilla, would I be able to choose? Impossible; I cannot enter a world of purely black and white choices. So let’s be thankful for the opportunity to experience the best of both worlds.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
pinch of salt
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
2/3 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup cocoa powder

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 180 C. Use butter to grease a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan, or line with parchment paper, and set aside.
2. Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt, and set aside.
3. Using a paddle attachment of an electric mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
4. Mix in the vanilla essence. Add flour mixture in two batches, alternating with the buttermilk and beginning and ending with the flour. Set aside 1/3 of the batter.
5. In another bowl, mix the cocoa powder with 1/4 cup boiling water with a spatula until smooth. Add this to the batter which was set aside and stir until well combined.
6. Drop spoonfuls of both batters into the prepared pan, alternating between vanilla and chocolate. To create a marbling effect, use a knife to cut through the batters in a swirling motion.
7. Bake for 40-50 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool before removing cake from the pan.

Click here for the printable PDF version:
Choc-vanilla Harmony

4 thoughts on “Choc-vanilla Harmony (my recipe in another magazine!)

  1. I’ve been on the lookout for a fab marble cake! Thanks so much for sharing – cannot wait to give this a try 🙂 Also congratulations on your achievement! You deserve every great thing that comes your way 🙂

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

