Fun Fridays: DIY Birthday Cards for Dads

I remember making my first handmade card a couple of years ago for my friend’s birthday. It was beautiful and I really wish I had a picture to post and give you a tutorial about. I had used different pieces of card, with varying textures and colours. I even painted a background with water colours and made hearts out of pearly white clay as a centerpiece for the card. The finished product was something I was extremely proud of and saw it as a pinnacle of my creativity at that time.

That was a couple of years ago and I’m ashamed to say I haven’t made a single greeting card since then. I got into University, became busy with life and started my new obsessions with baking and starting a blog. It wasn’t until I made a few scrapbooks over the past year that the extra scraps of paper lying around made me want to touch up an old activity, to perhaps start another hobby.

In other words, I thought it was time to make another card, to see what I could do this time around. That being said, here’s what I made the other day for my father-in-law’s birthday.


All it took was a few looks through different greeting cards and a trip to the craft store for some supplies. I got the idea of the four different, textured, blocks from a similar Mother’s Day card and decided to try out the same concept with a change in colour scheme and patterns.

I made the shirt using simple origami and found the silver birthday cake at a craft store. The ‘Happy Birthday’ message was something printed out 5 minutes before I presented the card so it’s not exactly what I originally had in mind. I would have preferred to type out something a bit more visible and perhaps with a nice border as well. The inner message of the card was handwritten on a piece of white paper and stuck inside. Not exactly creative either but that’s what happens when you’re in a hurry!

So why do people make cards? Some would say what a waste of time it is especially with the wide availability of handmade cards out there. I’m not sure what the answer to that question is. I could say I do it as a hobby, or see it as something that uses up excess scrapbooking supplies. But more than that, it really means something when you see how much the receiver of the card appreciates your gesture. All the time and effort hardly makes a dent then.

I’ve even made another card since then which I will be writing about as soon as I’m done with it. And now I’m already looking for another occasion to make another card and thinking of what tidbits to get at the craft store.

And no, that’s not all I did last weekend. With the weather warming up in Sydney, me and hubby have started doing a weekly Bay Run on weekends. We basically do a 7km circuit around a lake which has the best view ever. Being able to see beautiful greenery almost makes the torturous run (its usually just a walk or crawl for me) bearable. Almost.

Last week being more tiring than usual, we decided to have the best breakfast ever at a cafe across the street. Check out my extremely filling Turkish breakfast.

That’s it for today. See you next time!

4 thoughts on “Fun Fridays: DIY Birthday Cards for Dads

  1. Pingback: 32 DIY Creative Birthday Card Ideas - Guru Koala

  2. Pingback: Most Amazing 50 Handmade Birthday Card Ideas Which You Should Try Right Now! - Home Decor and DIY Ideas Blog- Tumree

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

