Potato Pinwheels

I’m back in Sydney! Today. Yea, that’s right, I take my blogging very seriously.

Actually I think I just wanted an excuse to get out of unpacking all the stuff we’ve brought back with us. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, I just spent the last two weeks back home in Dubai with my parents. It was a great trip, very busy and quick but the first time with hubby, so showing him around was loads of fun. And yes, I even managed to get a few pictures for two new blogposts!

So I’ve come to realize that there has been a lack of savoury dishes on my blog lately. In general, I tend to bake way more than I cook proper food so I don’t really mind having an excess of baked goods to blog about. However, I do know that some of my readers really appreciate savoury snacks and dishes so don’t worry, I am all set and determined to bring some balance into my next few blog posts.

Let’s start with potato pinwheels. I remember making pizza pinwheels a few years ago and they were delicious. All you do is make some sort of dough and spread pizza fillings on it, roll the dough into a cylinder and cut out slices. Same concept as making cinnamon rolls. So my inspiration for this post came from another blog (Maayeka: Potato Swirls). These pinwheels are very easy to make and taste great. I was done in about one hour (excluding the time it took to boil potatoes) and the pinwheels all disappeared in way less time than that!

I had a lot of potato filling left over and I think that’s because initially I started making extremely small pinwheels. So I increased the size of the chapatti just to get larger pinwheels. So as a rule of thumb, the amounts for the dough will make about two cylinders which you can slice into as many slices as you like. I would recommend 3/4 inch to 1 inch thick slices because they are easy to pick up and fry. You can make more dough if you want to use up all of the potato filling. So about two batches of this dough should be enough. Alternatively you could probably use puff pastry if you don’t want to make dough and then bake the pinwheels in an oven. I’ve tried to estimate the amounts of spices that I used, but feel free to add anything more.

Ingredients:
For the pastry:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
4 teaspoons vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
For the potato filling:
3 medium potatoes
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 tablespoon ginger paste
1/2 tablespoon garlic paste
1 1/2 teaspoons red chilli powder
1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder
1/2 teaspoon coriander powder
2 tablespoons fresh coriander leaves
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Method:

1. Boil the potatoes until tender. Peel and mash the potatoes when cool. Set aside.

2. Heat vegetable oil in a non-stick pan (medium heat) and add the cumin seeds. Saute the cumin seeds for one minute and then add ginger and garlic paste. Allow to saute for 2 minutes. Add the powdered turmeric, coriander and red chilli powder. Saute for one minute and then add mashed potatoes. Mix everything together and cook for one minute. Remove the potato mixture into a bowl. Add bread crumbs, fresh coriander and salt. Allow to cool.

3. Mix flour, oil and salt together in a bowl. Add enough water to make a stiff dough, knead well and then allow to the dough to rest for 15 minutes.

4. Knead the dough again and divide it into 2 big pieces. Roll out each piece into a large chapatti. Apply a layer of mashed potato paste over the entire surface of the chapatti, leaving about one centimeter free around the edges. Roll the chapatti slowly and seal the edges by pressing firmly. Use a sharp knife to cut 3/4 inch slices. Gently press each slice between the palms of your hand to seal the potato filling.

5. Heat oil in a frying pan and fry the potato pinwheels until golden brown in colour. Alternatively you can brush the slices with oil and bake them in an oven at 200 C until crisp and golden. Serve hot with salad or mint chutney.

I know you all want to hear about my trip to Dubai and see awesome pictures, but let’s blame jet lag and call it a night 🙂 More posts to come soon!

6 thoughts on “Potato Pinwheels

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

