Out and About: Impress Wood Fired Cuisine, Auburn

So here’s my attempt at adding more substance to my blog.

No, I’m not starting restaurant reviews or anything because I highly doubt that will be an interesting read coming from an amateur like me! Let me tell you what these ‘Out and About’ posts really are. Whenever I’ve been eating at a good place or doing something with friends I always feel like writing about it on my blog but then I think, I don’t have a recipe or really good pictures that to go with the post, so really, what am I supposed to blog about? After a few thoughts like that I’ve decided I might as well give this a shot and see what comes out of it. After all, I’ve moved to a new country so it doesn’t seem like a bad idea to occasionally write about where I’ve been eating. This is a food blog after all. So here starts my first Out and About post.

Eating out in Sydney is a lot different than what I was used to in Dubai. The primary reason for that is because not everything here is halal, something which might be difficult to imagine for some people. There are limited halal places to eat when you go out, so vegetarian or seafood options are something you learn to rely on at non-halal places. In the time that I’ve been here, I’ve tried out a fair amount of vegetarian and seafood dishes, both of which I actually like. But after a while I’m beginning to understand how the lack of being able to eat meat whenever you want can become a bother.

I’m lucky enough to live in an area which is famous for the abundance of ‘halal food’. And darn good food it is. Pretty much everyone in Sydney raves about the food in Auburn, and they’re not wrong. I’ve been living here for almost 6 month now and I really wish I had started these Out and About posts earlier and you would have understood what I’m talking about.
I have to be honest and say that I wasn’t much of an eating outdoors person in Dubai. Sounds odd I know, but I guess I’ve just always preferred eating at home and experimenting in the kitchen. In retrospect I should probably have taken advantage of being able to eat everything! 

Last weekend I had the priviledge of joining a delightful group of friends to have lunch at a Cafe/Restaurant in Auburn- Impress Wood Fired Cuisine. More commonly known by the name Impress Cafe because both the cafe and the restaurant are placed about 1 minute. Gets a bit confusing so its good to find out which one you actually want to go to.

As per the description wood fired cuisine, the food is mostly Middle Eastern with a wide selection of pasta and pizza and baked goods. I’m not sure how many people were there but it was a quiet Saturday afternoon and so the restaurant wasn’t too crowded for lunch.

I loved the place. Very spacious, not too loud even though most tables had people. And the weather was really good last weekend, with a bit of sun and lack of chilly air which I think everyone appreciated. 

As it was a halal restaurant, we went all out and ordered the meatiest dishes we could fine. You learn to take advantage of that sort of thing in this part of the world. Here’s what we ordered:

I actually don’t remember the name of this one (see, this is why I don’t do reviews and all that stuff) but it was basically a mixed grill platter served with some bread, dips and salad.

Highlight of the day: Nutella pizza! Ever heard of a dessert pizza? Warm, crunchy pizza crust spread with  nutella and topped with strawberries and cream. What more could you want in life?

Chicken and mushroom penne.

We ended up calling this one Arabic lasagne. It’s actually called Moussaka which is basically eggplant with minced meat, bechamel and tomato sauce. mostly eggplant based. Served with couscous on the side.

Impress special pizza- probably the best dish of the day in my opinion.

I’m already thinking of making this nutella pizza. It looks really easy and tastes really good as well.

Last, but not least. Moroccan lamb shanks, served with roasted potatoes and a bunch of other stuff I can’t remember.

I’m pretty sure there was more, but when there’s food on the table, it seems like I can’t be bothered to waste time taking too many pictures.

So overall, I would say this is a great place to take your friends or family for lunch. I’ve been told that the Mains are only served in the evenings so I definitely plan on going back to try a few of those out some day.

Anyway, what did you think of my amateur ‘restaurant review’? Let me know with your comments ๐Ÿ™‚ Till next time…

3 thoughts on “Out and About: Impress Wood Fired Cuisine, Auburn

  1. Pingback: Fun Fridays: Shopping and a look at L’oreal Lumi Magique Foundation | Bittersweet Haven and Other Random Stuff

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

