One Bowl Chocolate Cake

This post should actually be titled ‘The Best Chocolate Cake You Will Ever Bake’.

No seriously, someone actually said that to me after they tasted it.

So I came across this recipe on one of my favourite blogs and have had it on my mind for a while (Sips and Spoonfuls One Bowl Chocolate Cake).

I’ve gone through quite a few recipes of chocolate cake, all tried and tested, some good and some bad and some alright. Never before did it occur to me that adding hot brewed coffee would really bring out the flavour of chocolate like nothign else would. Coming across such a thing on most recipes only cause me to ignore it because I just assumed I would end up with a coffee/mocha flavoured cake. Apparently I was wrong. Anyway don’t even get me started on how moist and flavourful this cake was. I’m already thinking of making it again. This one is definitely a keeper.

And it is literally ‘one bowl’. All I did was dump the dry ingredients into the bowl of my mixer, followed by all wet ingredients except for the hot coffee. After allowing them to mix I dissolved about 1 teaspoon of coffee powder in a cup of hot boiling water (brewed coffee) and poured it into the batter and mixed it again. The recipe uses two 6-inch baking pans so you end up with two layers, each about an inch and a half thick. Trimmed and sandwiched together with cream, and topped with cream or frosting- you get something like this:

 Here’s a few trimmings and ends. Hardly does justice to how good it looks on the inside. But I had baked this for a dinner that I was invited to so I could hardly cut through it just to take a picture. No matter how tempting that idea was. I also didn’t get to take a picture after I finished frosting the entire thing. But the way I see it, you get the gist of it right? 

To sum it up, the best cake ever. Also super easy to make, so don’t let any fears of baking turn you away.

Ingredients:
2 cups all purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup hot water
1 teaspoon coffee powder
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups double cream
1/4 cup icing sugar
Method: 

1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees C. Grease and flour two 6 inch cake pans.
2. In a bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients. Add all the rest of the ingredients except coffee. Mix well until combined.
3. Dissolve coffee in the hot water and add this to the batter. Mix once again (the batter will be very runny). Pour batter into greased pans and bake in the oven for approximately 45 minutes or until a skewer comes out just clean. Cool on a wire rack.
4. Whip double cream on high speed until soft peaks start to form. Add icing sugar and beat again. Sandwich the cake layers together with cream. Use remaining cream to frost the rest of the cake. Decorate as desired.

5 thoughts on “One Bowl Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: Oreo Cupcakes | Bittersweet Haven and Other Random Stuff

  2. Pingback: My first attempt at a rockstar birthday cake | Bittersweet Haven and Other Random Stuff

  3. Pingback: Cream Cheese Brownie Cupcakes | Bittersweet Haven and Other Random Stuff

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting | Bittersweet Haven and Other Random Stuff

  5. Pingback: Ombre Rose Cakes | Bittersweet Haven and Other Random Stuff

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

