Bite-sized baby cupcakes

A belated Eid Mubarak to everyone.

First Eid since my wedding and I must say it has been quite an experience. For starters I’ve definitely received more than my share of gifts this year. Not that I’m complaining! But it’s interesting to see how people in different places celebrate the one day when you could probably eat enough to gain a couple of kilograms in a day.

 Since this was my first Eid with my in-laws I was all set to come up with some sort of spectacular dessert but after two days of prep in the kitchen and helping around with a dozen or two dishes for the big day I was less than up to the challenge. Back at home, Eid isn’t as big an occasion as it is here in Sydney, which might have to do with the size of our community here. The more people you know, the more packed your day becomes.

The week before Eid was chaotic. The end of Ramadan along with last minute Eid shopping and grocery shopping, whilst having neighbours and relatives over for iftar kept me quite busy. So by the time I was done with baking about 4 dozen cupcakes of various sizes I was just too tired to frost them all. Frosting has never been my strong point and its always something I leave to the end so much that I end up ignoring it altogether at times. I’ve also learned that when this happens, regular icing can be a delightful saviour. And a lot faster. It’s a great shortcut and I prefer the taste of icing to buttercream frosting. So I whipped up some colored lemon icing and found a bunch of sprinkles which is how I managed to set up this quick cupcake tower.

Not exactly my best looking cupcakes but knowing how terrible I am with frosting and decorating  they could look a lot worse. Really. And seeing as how a bunch of kids broke into a fight over the last few cupcakes, I think it turned out to be quite an eventful Eid.

I chose to make mini cupcakes because nobody wants to eat a giant cupcake after they’ve been to 99 or so houses in a day. And the smaller they are, the easier to bake. So I found a packet of tiny cupcake cases and whipped these up. It was just my luck that I could only find blue and green food coloring in the pantry which explains minty green look. The verdict? Absolutely delicious cupcakes. Soft, buttery and so moist. Store them in an airtight container and you can enjoy them for a couple of days.

If you’ve never made cupcakes before, this is the recipe to start with. I don’t think anyone could go wrong with this one. Hope everyone else had a great weekend as well 🙂 Cheers.

Ingredients:
250 grams butter
1 3/4 cups sugar
4 eggs, at room temperature
3 cups all purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
pinch of salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup milk
Frosting:
4 cups icing sugar
3 teaspoons lime juice
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
water

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 325 F. Line a standard muffin tin with paper liners.
2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.
3. Cream butter and sugar together with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, for almost 3 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time and beat until incorporated, scraping down the sides of the bowl at intervals. Beat in vanilla extract.
4. Add the flour mixture in three batches, alternating with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour.
5. Pour the cupcake batter into the cupcake liners until 2/3 filled. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Let cool completely on a rack before icing.
6. Mix the icing sugar and lime juice. Omit lime juice if desired. Add water in teaspoons until the icing reaches a stiff spreading consistency, about one teaspoon of water per cup of icing sugar. Divide the icing into bowls and add food coloring of your choice. Spread the icing on the cupcakes and sprinkle with hundreds and thousands.

2 thoughts on “Bite-sized baby cupcakes

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

