Tiramisu

The last time I wrote a blog post, I was right in the middle of an extremely hot summer. So it’s a bit weird that only a month later, as I type these words, my fingers are going numb because of the cold and I’m sort of wondering if I will need the heater today as well. If you haven’t figured it out yet, I am back in the Southern hemisphere where everyone is still waiting for winter to leave.

Winter is a funny season. For starters it makes you crave all the weirdest things. Or maybe that’s just me because hot weather and my appetite don’t seem to get along. On the other hand, Ramadan and winter totally get along. I can’t even begin to describe how blessed I feel to be able to fast when the days are about 12 hours long and daytime temperatures are such that I am yet to feel thirsty during my fast.

So about two weekends ago I was invited over for iftar at a relative’s house where they served an awesome tiramisu for dessert. Perfect way to curb post-iftar sweet tooth cravings in my opinion. So last weekend when I wanted some of that cold dessert, I gave it a shot and tried out my version of tiramisu.

It probably wasn’t the best tiramisu ever but I thought it was still pretty darn good. I’ve made tiramisu many times before and it tends to taste different every time I make it. The best thing about it is that it requires absolutely no baking or cooking whatsoever which allows you to taste as you make it and add the necessary adjustments. So I’ll let you know now itself that the quantities I’ve written in the recipe below are somewhat vague estimates. The only thing you might have to adjust is the amount of sugar as I prefer my tiramisu a little less sweeter than most people. But feel free to add in more cream or cheese depending on your taste buds. The amount of finger biscuits that you need will depend on the size of the serving dish and the number of sponge finger layers in your tiramisu. The quantities given here are for a 10 x 8 inch dish with two layers of sponge fingers.

Ideally, tiramisu is made with mascarpone cheese, but I’ve always used a mixture of sour cream, thickened cream and regular Philadelphia cream cheese because I can never seem to find mascarpone cheese or remember the name ‘mascarpone’ when I’m grocery shopping.

Ingredients:
150 ml fresh thickened cream
250 ml Philadelphia cream cheese
200 ml sour cream
3/4 cup icing sugar
1 cup water
2-3 tablespoons coffee powder
30-40 sponge finger biscuits
Method:
1. Beat together cream cheese, thickened cream and sour cream on high speed with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add the icing sugar and beat until well mixed.
2. Dissolve the coffee powder in water. Dip each sponge finger biscuit in this coffee-water until completely immersed. Lift them up and gently squeeze or or let the water drain off.
4. Place the biscuit on the bottom of the serving dish and repeat Step 2 until the entire bottom of the dish is covered with biscuits. Spread a thick layer of the cream cheese mixture over the biscuit layer. Alternate with layers of cream and biscuit until the dish is full. Sprinkle cocoa powder as garnish. Refrigerate for 5-6 hours before serving.
2 thoughts on “Tiramisu

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

