Chocolate Chip Cookie Sandwiches

These are without a doubt the BEST chocolate chip cookies I have ever made. I think I must have finished about a dozen as soon as they came out of the oven. Which is why I probably shouldn’t make these again.
My baking frenzy started when I was about 13 and was given a baking recipe book for my birthday. So that’s a lot of time to have gone through loads of chocolate chip cookie recipes. Since that time I’ve baked chewy cookies, hard cookies, too-sweet cookies, and even cookies which were so sticky I couldn’t get them off the baking tray. Unbelievably they always tasted pretty good, but never perfect, leaving me with a dislike for homemade chocolate chip cookies.
I came across the cream cheese filling idea after seeing a post on Bakergirl (Mini chocolate chip love sandwiches. She used some sort of Marshmallow filling but since I had leftover cream cheese from a previous post (Red Velvet Chocolate Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting) I decided to try out her chocolate chip cookie recipe with my own cream cheese frosting. And I guess I pretty much stole her sandwich filling idea as well.
Not too chewy, hard, soft or sticky. Absolutely perfect. 

I made these while my parents were away for an entire week leaving me free to get into whatever mischief I wanted in the kitchen. It also meant I had about 4 dozen chocolate chip cookies and no one to eat them. So I gave a few to two of my friends and left the rest for my grandfather who now thinks I became a chemical engineer just to start a cookie business or something. I’m sure he meant that as a compliment seeing as how he pretty much finished an entire box.
Ingredients:
1 cup butter or shortening
1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder, optional
1 cup chocolate chips
Frosting (makes about 2 cups):
 225 grams cream cheese
1/2 cup butter
1 cup icing sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Method:
1. Cream together the butter or shortening, sugars, eggs, and vanilla using an electric beater. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Add the flour mixture to the shortening mixture in batches, mixing well after each addition. Stir in chocolate chips.
2.  Preheat the oven to 180 C. Scoop out dough and roll into 3/4 or 1-inch balls. Place on a greased baking sheet two inches apart. Alternatively, use a spoon to drop spoonfuls of the dough onto the baking sheet. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until slightly browned.
3. When the cookies are cool, make the filling. Place cream cheese in a medium mixing bowl. Using a rubber spatula, soften the cream cheese. Gradually add butter, and continue beating until smooth and well blended. Sift in icing sugar and vanilla extract, and continue beating until smooth.
4. Pipe or spread filling onto the flat side of a cookie and press a second cookie on top, twisting it a little to squeeze some of the frosting out of the sides. Then roll the sides in sprinkles!
Source: Idea from Bakergirl
Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

