Apple Cinnamon Cupcakes

Happy Blogiversary to me!

Yes, it has been a year since my first words hit this page for public viewing. So far I have published 59 blog posts including this and and have had about 4000 page views. Not too sure what that means but the numbers sound good enough to me! I should probably sit and reflect about all that has happened through the past year but I would rather talk about my yummy cupcakes.

I tend to get asked why I end up baking so much in a week. Its not always because I want to but most of the time I sort of need to. At my house, any food sitting around becomes my responsibility to get rid of it. Carrots, apples, mushrooms, extra box of icing sugar, etc. you name it. Most of my casual baking and cooking helps to use up whatever is sitting in the pantry. So here’s what I made with a few extra apples lying around.

These cupcakes have a slightly spicy twist to them and very are quick and easy to make. There’s cinnamon in the batter, in the frosting and I also sprinkle cinnamon-sugar on top right before they go into the oven. So if you’re not a fan of cinnamon, these are probably not the cupcakes for you because they would just be too bland without the cinnamon. I’ve written the recipe for 6 cupcakes which is usually ideal if you feel like having a few for breakfast. Of course you can see that I did not make 6. At all.

“Even if I knew that tomorrow the world would go to pieces, I would still plant my apple tree.”

So altogether I am very surprised that I managed to keep this blog going for a year. And that too, with a certain amount of regularity if you ignore the two months of my wedding chaos. I suppose that might be because I’ve had a fairly relaxed year which has given me ample motivation and time. Here’s to hoping that I don’t ever lose the motivation even if I lose the free time!

Makes 6 cupcakes
Ingredients:
1 egg
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup milk
1/4 cup butter
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
pinch of salt
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 small apples, peeled, cored and grated
For the topping:
3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
For the frosting:
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 cups icing sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder
Method:
 1. Mix the egg, sugar, milk and melted butter in a large bowl. Sift in the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Add the chopped apple and mix coarsely.
2. Preheat the oven to 180 C. Line six large muffin pans with paper liners. Spoon the mixture into the prepared muffin pans. To make the topping, mix the sugar with the cinnamon. Sprinkle over the uncooked muffins. Bake for 30-35 minutes, until well risen and golden. Allow to cool completely before frosting.
3. To make the frosting, cream butter with icing sugar using an electric beater. Gradually add milk, cinnamon and vanilla extract until you get a stiff icing consistency. Use a piping bag with a star nozzle to pipe the frosting or spread it on the cupcakes with a spoon. Sprinkle with extra cinnamon powder before serving.
4 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Cupcakes

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

