Chocolate Caramel Slice

A new baking post! Make these chocolate caramel slices, and trust me not a single one will be left once everyone tastes them. Guaranteed.

Over the past month a lot of people have been saying things like ‘Why don’t you bake anymore?’ and ‘Have you stopped blogging?’. Yes I do still bake and I am still blogging. Despite the lack of new baking posts, I have actually been baking more than usual since my wedding- almost twice or thrice every single weekend. I just haven’t been blogging about them because most of the things I bake have already had their minutes of fame on my blog and as for the rest…I guess that is sort of my fault for slacking.

Here’s another thing that happens after you get married- everyone wants to feed you. And by everyone, I mean EVERYONE. The only good thing I get out of it is an excuse to bake as much as I want, and not have to sit and finish all my goodies. Instead of taking risks with new recipes, I’ve stuck to making old time favourites which leave very little room for disaster. Not that I haven’t had any disasters, because believe me, I most certainly have. So far I’ve baked two batches of my Chocolate Nut Brownies (didn’t turn out as well as they normally do, which is just my sad luck), one Upside down pineapple cake, two caramel puddings, two peach and blackberry trifles, my Super versatile coffee cake, a butter cake, and a chocolate sponge cake. And two entire batches of these yummy chocolate caramel slices. Yup, I’ve certainly been busy and I still have no idea why I didn’t take pictures of everything I baked but let’s not cry over spilt milk.

So Chocolate Caramel Slices- the recipe below is my altered version of one from a book.  It basically consists of three parts: a chewy, bottom layer, a soft, middle layer and a chocolate topping. Sounds complicated, but it’s not that bad. Follow all the instructions and make each layer separately. A little pointer- make sure the bottom layer is baked nice and hard and allow it to cool before pouring the condensed milk layer or else the bottom layer breaks into pieces! Yes that did happen to me but once you put it in the oven it turns out fine anyway.
I would advice using shortening for the chocolate layer instead of butter or margarine because it helps set the top layer quickly and tastes a lot better as well.Okay enough talk from me. Here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:
1 cup plain flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup dessicated coconut
125 grams butter or margarine, melted
400 grams can sweetened condensed milk
2 eggs
3/4 cup milk
60 grams vegetable shortening
200 grams milk chocolate

1. Combine flour, sugar and coconut in a bowl. Blend in butter.
2. Press mixture into a greased, 18 cm x 28 cm lamington tin. Bake in a moderate (180 C) for 20 to 25 minutes.
3. Beat the eggs in a bowl. Blend in condensed milk and liquid milk and continue beating until well combined.
4. Pour condensed milk mixture over the base. Bake for a further 20 minutes. Allow to cool.
5. Melt shortening in a saucepan over low heat. Add the milk chocolate and stir over low heat until well combined. Spread evenly over slice.
6. Refrigerate for 2-3 hours to set. Cut into squares and serve.

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

