Wholewheat pancakes with strawberry syrup

Did I ever mention how much I love breakfast?

It’s my favourite meal of the day and definitely the first thing I think  of when I get up in the morning: What am I having for breakfast today? If I had to choose a favourite breakfast it would be pancakes hands down. There’s nothing better than soft, buttery, melt-in-your-mouth sweet pancakes. So here’s a yummy breakfast I made a few weeks ago.
So this is actually a very late blog post since usually I blog about something I’ve made right away! Truth is, I’ve been having a very busy month (more on that later) and its about to get a lot busier! I’m all set to travel to Sydney at the end of next week and I don’t even want to start talking about all the things I’ve got left to do.

Anyway, back to the pancakes. The recipe below is my standard pancake recipe. Normally I use all-purpose flour instead of whole-wheat but trust me when I say that it tastes exactly the same with a slightly healthier approach. And it certainly makes you feel a little better about gobbling down a stack of pancakes! I don’t like my syrup to be sweet so I don’t even add sugar at times, and have used honey in this recipe. Feel free to use sugar as you need. Alternatively you could make the syrup from other fruits and that’s something I would like to try one day. 
A few tips: When you make the pancakes, be sure to heat up the pan for a while before cooking. After that, lower the flame and start adding the batter. Keep checking the bottom of the first pancake to see if it starts to burn, as that tends to happen for the first one or two pancakes. Just flip it over quickly if that does happen and then lower the heat for the next cup of batter.
This recipe makes about 4-5 pancakes, each one 3-4 inches in diameter. Due to the lack of time I haven’t bothered writing up a printable recipe so sorry for that!
And on a final note, I would love to hear from you guys. Feel free to leave comments, or just say hello or you can even email me with suggestions about what other recipes I should try out. Look forward to hearing from everyone! And watch this space. Things will get very interesting soon….
Ingredients:
1 egg
1 cup whole-wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup sugar
3/4 cup milk
2-3 tablespoons melted butter
For strawberry syrup:
1 cup strawberries, chopped
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup water
Method:
1. Mix egg, flour, baking powder, milk and sugar in a bowl until a smooth batter is formed. Pour in the melted butter and stir quickly to mix it in.
2. Heat a non-stick frying pan under medium heat. Pour about half a cup of the batter, and allow the pancake to cook on one side for 2-3 minutes while covered. Flip the pancake over and cook the other side for one minute. Continue with the remaining batter.
3. To make the sauce, stir all the ingredients in a small pan on medium heat until the sauce starts to boil. Lower the heat and simmer for 10-15 minutes. Pour while still hot over stack of pancakes.  
Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

