Macaroni with Spicy Shrimp, Oregano and Paprika

It’s been days since I’ve had pasta. I honestly can’t remember the last time I had any. But on a different note it’s finally Friday!!!

After a late night at my friend’s wedding yesterday, (and yes, I really need to get started on the wedding post soon) I expected myself to sleep through most of the morning. But thanks to my uncanny and yet so annoying ability to not be able to sleep in past nine, I was up and ready to start a lovely Friday morning. 
Paprika- I’ve always loved the smell of it but never really used any in a dish so I bought some last week and then came across a recipe for spicy shrimp pasta on Delish.com. So the recipe below is basically my tweaked  and tested version of it.

Overall, this one was really quick to make. I had some trouble with the shrimps as they took forever to defrost. Cleaning and cutting them up is also a pain so feel free to just use them without chopping if you prefer. The flavours of paprika and oregano were just too good to describe, especially with the warm pasta and grated cheese on top. However, there was a weird smell and I think that was because of all the cumin powder I had added so I reduced that on the recipe. Anyway, try it out if you want a really filling lunch or just feel like eating a lot of good pasta. I know a lot of people stay clear of seafood so this can also be made using chicken in place of the shrimps. Speaking of which, chicken with paprika is a great combination and reminds me of my childhood in Malaysia, where paprika is pretty popular. Now that sounds like something I should probably think of trying out next time…

Ingredients:
1/4 cup cooking oil
1 onion, finely chopped
1 tablespoon garlic paste
1 tablespoon ginger paste
2 teaspoons paprika 
1 1/2 teaspoons cumin powder
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 pound medium shrimp, shelled and chopped
1 cup mushrooms, chopped
2-3 tomatoes, crushed and blended
2-3 green chillies, chopped
400 grams pasta (penne rigate or elbow macaroni)
1/3 cup chopped coriander leaves or cilantro, plus more for garnishing


1. Heat oil in a large pot. Add chopped onions, garlic, ginger paste and saute for about 2-3 minutes. Mix the ground spices (paprika, cumin, oregano, salt, pepper) in a bowl with some water to make a paste. Add this to the pot and continue to saute with onions. 
2. Add shrimps to the pot and cook with spices for 5 minutes, adding water to prevent drying out. Make sure the tomatoes have been blended into a pulp. Add mushrooms to the shrimps and continue cooking. Pour the blended tomatoes, chopped coriander and green chillies and cook for 10 minutes on reduced heat. 
3. Meanwhile, in a large pot of boiling, salted water, cook the pasta until almost done, about 12 minutes. 
4. Drain cooked pasta and toss into the shrimp sauce and mix well. Garnish with coriander leaves and dried oregano sprinkled on top.




Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

