Birthday Breakfast: Crepes with sweet yoghurt and Raspberry Sauce

I’m back! Yes, I know I haven’t written a post in a while since I was busy travelling all this time and just got back last week. Anyway, today’s my birthday (yay me!). I have the priviledge of having survived yet another year. Hopefully this year will make me a bit wiser as well.
I won’t waste time boring everyone by reminiscing through the past and how I’ve grown as a person blablabla. Let’s keep it short by starting with the recipe already. 
So this is what I came across on Food and Wine (they have great recipes) and decided that this was what I wanted to make for my birthday breakfast. I also thought I would be all bright and cheery on an early morning. Not a chance. Last night I had the chance to attend my friend’s Mayun at her house and it was a certainly night to remember. Lots of fun, dancing and great people (blog post about that coming soon). After that I was greeted at home with a birthday cake and some friends. Went to bed absolutely exhausted and woke up craving for a sweet breakfast.

Presents!!
I’ve never actually made crepes before. Pancakes and griddle cakes yes. Crepes are a thinner version of pancakes. Overall I was done with making breakfast in about 20 minutes which was perfect because I was hungry enough to eat the plate.
So basically you have three steps, make the crepe batter and let it sit while you cook the raspberry sauce in a pot and mix yogurt with sugar and vanilla essence. After that its time to cook the crepes, which is a lot faster than cooking pancakes. Fill the crepes with sweet yoghurt and serve with raspberry sauce while still warm. I’m sorry about the random and pathetic pictures, its been a while so I really do deserve some slack! Overall, it was an enjoyable day filled with surprises 🙂

Ingredients:
3 eggs
1 1/4 cups milk
pinch of salt
1 cup all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons butter, melted
1/2 cup raspberry jam
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/4 cup fresh raspberries (optional)
1 1/2 cups plain yoghurt
3 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract


1. Whisk the eggs with 1/4 cup of the milk in a medium sized bowl, Add salt and mix until blended. Whisk in the flour and remaining 1 cup of milk until the batter is smooth. Add 1 tablespoon of the melted butter. Let the crepe batter stand at room temperature for about 10 minutes.
2. In a saucepan, combine the raspberry jam and lemon juice (add fresh raspberries if you want) and cook over moderate heat until the jam is formed. Meanwhile, combine yoghurt with sugar and vanilla in another bowl.
3. Heat a 10-inch non-stick pan over moderate heat. Brush the pan with some of the melted butter. Pour about 1/3 cup of crepe batter and immediately rotate the pan to evenly coat the bottom. Cook the crepe until lightly browned, about 45 seconds. Flip the crepe and cook the other side for another 30 seconds until browned, and then transfer the crepe to a large plate. Continue making crepes with the remaining batter, brushing the pan with butter as needed.
5. Spoon tablespoons of the yoghurt onto each crepe and roll them up. Pour raspberry sauce on top to serve.


This is what the crepes look like

Could use a little more raspberry sauce

All set for breakfast!

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

