Decadent chocolate and strawberry torte (no baking required!)

So here’s something new and easy that I tried out last week. Crunchy Oreo cookie base with sinfully sweet milk chocolate filling, served with fresh strawberries on top. There couldn’t be a more chocolatey yet extremely easy dessert out there. Or at least not one that I have actually made. I am not a huge chocolate fanatic but I do love sweet desserts.

Last weekend I had to make something for my mom and her friends. At the same time I realised that there was something wrong with my oven which has been acting weird for a couple of weeks, resulting in my past two cakes turning out disastrous and barely baked at the center. So this left me without an oven but a dessert that needed to be made. So to be on the safe side I decided to make something that didn’t need to be baked. I’ve never really tried making many chilled desserts except for a cheesecake once, so I decided to have another shot at it. After some browsing through the internet I finally came across an easy recipe that still looked good enough to make.

I must say that as soon as this torte was taken out of the fridge and placed at the table, it was gone within minutes. I am not kidding, I even have witnesses! So it is a shame that the only time I got to have a taste of what seems to be an irresistible dessert was during the making process when I licked the spoon clean. Overall I found it a bit too sweet and chocolatey for my taste but definitely suitable for big chocolate lovers. I totally want to make this again just to have a complete taste of the chocolate/Oreo combination. As I said before, this recipe requires absolutely no baking and I’m sure anyone could make it. Be sure to leave a comment if you do try it out because I really want to know how it turned out!





Ingredients:
Base
200 grams Oreo biscuits (with the cream removed), crushed
25 grams butter, softened
Filling
200 grams condensed milk
250 grams milk or bitter chocolate
160 grams fresh cream (or double cream)
Topping
Cocoa powder, to dust
1 cup fresh strawberries (or raspberries)

1. To make the base: Make sure the Oreo biscuits are properly crushed to crumbs. Mix the crumbs with melted butter and press this mixture to the bottom of a greased, 9 inch round cake tin. Chill this base for 2-3 hours until firm.
2. Make the filling: Place the condensed milk and chocolate in a bowl. Melt the chocolate in the microwave oven carefully and use an electric mixer until the batter is smooth. Add the cream and continue beating. Pour the filling onto the chilled base and freeze for 4-6 hours or overnight.
3. To serve, use a knife around the edges of the torte to remove it from the tin. Pile the strawberries or raspberries on the center of the torte. Dust with cocoa powder before serving.

4 thoughts on “Decadent chocolate and strawberry torte (no baking required!)

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

