Perfect homemade pizza (and a peek at the Dubai Airshow)

So I’m sure everyone has been appreciating the change in the weather outside. The past week has been pleasant enough that going for walks and sitting outside has been somewhat enjoyable. Good weather also has me smiling and perky and that’s when I go through a frenzy for baked goods. Homemade pizza is something I’ve tried a few times and I would say its one of the easiest and most versatile things to make for lunch or dinner. I love being able to choose pizza toppings that I actually want to eat for a change. It certainly beats having to end up removing bits and pieces off store bought pizza.

I tend to make pizza dough in my bread machine which basically takes care of the entire kneading process. Its very convenient as I can just dump the ingredients for the dough into the machine and leave it for a fixed amount of time and continue with whatever I’m doing. So today I left my pizza dough in the bread machine and went off to watch the Dubai Airshow! My parents are huge fans of the Airshow and so every year I end up tagging along as well. But I will admit it was not so much the show than the thought of being able to sit and stare at the clear blue sky that had me going this time.

Sorry about my crappy pictures but I just couldn’t resist!

Anyway, back to the pizza. So I’ve put down the ingredients for the dough and these measurements will yield enough pizza dough for two medium sized, thin crusted pizza bases about 12 inches in diameter or one extra large, thick crusted pizza. I ended making two and gave one of them to my neighbour’s kids.
If you have a bread machine, just place the ingredients in the order that the machine specifies. Mine works by having liquids at the bottom and then dry ingredients like flour, salt and finally yeast at the top. To make regular pizza dough just mix the ingredients together and knead it for a while with your hands. After that, leave the dough in a warm environment, such as a an oven at 30-40C for about 20-30 minutes or until the dough feels soft and has risen to about double in size.  

I’ve listed down the toppings I used but feel free to choose your own. I think tomato paste mixed with chilli sauce makes a quick and tasty pizza sauce but you can also use something from the store. Also don’t forget the mozzarella cheese since nothing else tastes better all melted and browned on top of a great tasting pizza. The toppings in between can be anything from beef pepperoni to Italian sausage and pineapple chunks.

Ingredients:
Pizza Dough
1 1/4 cups water
2 tablespoons canola oil (or any cooking oil)
4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons rapid-rise active yeast
(Note: I use powdered dry yeast. If you choose to use whole yeast, it needs to be dissolved in water first before being added to the dough mixture.)

Toppings:

Cooking oil
Tomato paste
Chilli Sauce
2 cups button mushrooms, sliced
200 grams beef pepperoni, sliced
1 capsicum, chopped
1 tomato, sliced thinly
1 onion, sliced into rings
1 cup of green olives, chopped
Shredded Mozzarella cheese

After making the dough, use a rolling pin to roll out the dough on a floured surface. Brush a thin layer of oil onto the pizza base. Spread a mixture of tomato paste and chilli sauce, or pizza sauce generously onto the base. Sprinkle the rest of the toppings evenly onto the pizza and cover everything with mozzarella cheese.  

2 thoughts on “Perfect homemade pizza (and a peek at the Dubai Airshow)

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

