My super quick and easy egg fried rice

Fried rice- who doesn’t love it? It’s easy, versatile and can be eaten with almost anything. I have always appreciated recipes and dishes which take very little effort and time to make. Although I am ready to spend ages slaving over cakes and other baked goods, I am not a fan of standing over a hot stove for long periods of time. For me, everyday cooking should involve some cutting up, slicing and dicing, and then perhaps marinating if required and after that everything should just go into a pot with seasonings, all to be cooked in half an hour or less. So here’s a recipe of mine that does exactly that. I love fried rice, which is obvious since I am a fan of stir fry and Chinese food. I made this today along with my equally quick and easy chilli chicken, which I’ll be posting soon after. Anyway, this recipe is easy and doesn’t need many ingredients, feel free to use your own combination of different vegetables.  I prefer carrots, tomato and capsicum or red peppers.

Ingredients:
500 grams (2 1/2 cups) rice
2 eggs
1 teaspoon garlic paste
1 teaspoon ginger paste
2-4 tablespoon soy sauce
1 onion, finely chopped
1 cup finely chopped vegetables (cabbage/capsicum/tomato)
1/2 carrot, grated finely
3-4 green chillies
vegetable oil for cooking
salt, pepper

1. Wash and soak rice in water for about 10-15 minutes. Cook the rice on the stove or in a rice cooker.
2. In a wok or large pan, heat about 1/4 cup of oil. Add the onions and stir fry for a minute and then add the garlic and ginger paste.
3. Beat the eggs lightly and then pour them into the pan and scramble them for a minute. Add the chopped vegetables and green chillies, continue to cook them for a few minutes. Mix together with the scrambled eggs.
4. Add the soy sauce, salt and pepper according to your taste. Add the cooked rice to the pot and use two spoons to stir and toss the rice with the seasoned vegetables.
5. Cover the pot and simmer on low heat for 2-3 minutes. Serve hot.

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

