Dream birthday cake for an 11 year old girl

Here’s something fun that I did today for my mom’s friend’s daughter’s birthday. I decided to bake the type of cake I would love to have for any birthday of mine. So say hello to every girl’s dream birthday cake- a princess castle cake!!
Unfortunately this cake did not turn out not as I had hoped. I used a cake pan with a smaller diameter than the one I normally use and then forgot to keep the cake in the oven for a bit longer as the center of a cake usually takes longer to cook. Secondly, I was in a hurry to get out of the house so I didn’t bother checking the center. So after cutting the cake in half during the frosting part, I came across a very annoying discovery- the cake was actually soft and uncooked at the center! Well, there was nothing to do at that point but to bake a second cake which I did not have the time or ingredients for. So I cut out the uncooked part and tried to piece the cake back together. Initially it was a disaster and I was all set to throw the entire thing out. But then I decided to give it a try. So I frosted the entire thing and covered it up with princessy decorations to distract the eye from the hollow at the center. It’s not the best cake I have made which is very disappointing since I’ve been baking since I was 13; surely I can bake a simple cake! Hence I haven’t disclosed the recipe because I will be making this again some other time and hopefully it will turn out much better.

For the decorations, I used pink buttercream frosting for the entire cake and also for the piped stars. And then placed waffle ice-cream cones onto the cake to make castle turrets. The white and purple balls are made from fondant icing which you can get from most supermarkets. I wanted to use fondant to cover the entire cake but since I’ve never done it and it looks tricky, I didn’t think I should be tempting fate by trying out something else that could destroy the cake!

Anyway here are some pictures, hopefully the next time I make this it will look better!

And for those of you who are mesmerized by my creativity- don’t be, the design is actually from one of the Wilton cake books and can be found online.

The castle door

Yes, the towers turned out a bit crooked.

Use frosting to pipe little windows along the side of the cake
2 thoughts on “Dream birthday cake for an 11 year old girl

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

