Snickerdoodles

A recent look through my blog posts made me suddenly realize that I have yet to post any cookie recipes which is a real shame. Cookies were one of the first things that I ever tried to bake, and soon I’ll be posting a recipe for my first ever batch of cookies. So keep watching this spot.
Today’s post is about snickerdoodle cookies which are like regular sugar dough cookies except that the cookies are rolled in cinnamon before being baked. They are usually crisp and fluffy cookies which can melt away in your mouth. My previous attempts to make snickerdoodles were never really successful, and recently I was lucky enough to come across a great recipe from another blog (Bakergirl) and I must say, this is one of the best cookies I’ve ever made! Perfect if your sweet tooth is light and you like to avoid heavy things like chocolate and frosting. Try it out, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed. 
Ingredients: 
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup cooking oil
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup powdered or icing sugar
1 egg
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup sugar + 1/2 tablespoon cinnamon powder to roll the cookies in

1. Preheat the oven to 180 C.
2. Use an electric beater to mix together butter, oil, the two types of sugar and egg. 
3. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, and salt.
4. Slowly beat the flour mixture into the butter mixture. Combine the remaining sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.
5. Make the cookies by shaping the dough into 1 inch balls and then roll them each in the sugar-cinnamon mixture. Place the balls 2-3 inches apart on a greased baking tray and flatten each ball to about 1/4 inch with a flat bottomed glass.
6. Bake the cookies for about 10-12 minutes or until the edges are slightly browned. Allow the cookies to cool before serving.



Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

