Mocha cupcakes

Hello everyone!

We’re halfway through the month of Ramadan and the other day I just had an intense craving for coffee. I am a regular coffee drinker and I try to avoid it during the entire month of fasting because it tends to dehydrate me. So the other day I decided to try out a recipe for mocha cupcakes that I found in a magazine. The idea of having chocolate and coffee all in one delicious cupcake was just too good to resist.

Overall, this was not one of the best batch of cupcakes I have made. The batter was a bit too dry although I suppose I could have just added some extra water into the mixture. At the same time, the cupcakes were not as soft and chewy as I had hoped for. And I was really looking forward to the coffee/mocha taste and all I got was just a large dose of chocolate cupcakes. So if you’re a big chocolate lover, this one is for you! Secondly, I did not really like the icing for this recipe. It was too buttery for my liking- I felt that normal chocolate buttercream icing would have been better. So after mixing the cake batter, add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water and continue mixing until you get a creamy consistency. I would also increase the amount of coffee and reduce the cocoa portion just to actually be able to smell some coffee, but I guess that’s something for next time. At least now I have something to satisfy my sweet tooth for the next couple of days!

Ingredients:
1 tsp instant coffee
1 tbsp hot water
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
2 eggs
1 cup self-raising flour
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

For the icing:
3/4 cup butter
1/2 cup icing sugar
1 tbsp cocoa powder or 10 g dark chocolate

1. Dissolve the coffee powder in 1 tbsp hot water and set this aside. Cream together butter, sugar and vanilla essence in a mixing bowl. Add the eggs and beat until smooth.
2. Sift together flour and cocoa powder and beat this into the butter and sugar mixture. Add the dissolved coffee to the mixture.
3. Drop spoonfuls of batter into muffin cups with liners and bake them in a pre-heated oven at 180 C for about 20 minutes.
4. For the icing, beat together all the ingredients and spread evenly on top of the cooled cupcakes. Alternatively you can use a piping bag filled with icing to decorate the cupcakes.

5 thoughts on “Mocha cupcakes

  1. Coffeized chocolate, my weakness!! I'm a big time coffee addict, and I know exactly what you mean about staying away from it during Ramadan. I've kept away, but these cupcakes may have set off a craving that I fear will break my discipline now 😦

Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

