Classic coffee cake

Hi guys!

Let me start this blog post with an apology for not baking anything really awesome since the start of my blog!  I’ve just been so busy with graduation and trying to complete all my summer shopping before I leave for my trip- I’m leaving by the end of this month for a 4 week trip to Singapore, Malaysia and Australia (more on that later). Well, today after a long day of shopping (again!) I suddenly had a craving for something deliciously home baked-  in particular, something that would smell great and I could have it with my coffee tomorrow morning. So I decided a simple cake would suffice my craving for now as I don’t seem to have time for baking anything complicated. My basic vanilla cake just seemed too dull to make, and since I have a blog post sitting around, also a waste of time as I don’t see the point in uploading such a dull recipe on my blog. And for some reason a lot of people don’t consider vanilla a flavour (what is up with that lol). Hence I decided to spruce things up by finding a slightly altered version of the classic vanilla cake recipe. My store of recipes had one which I had adapted from a similar recipe that I once found on delish.com (great website!). I love delish.com; they have great recipes to get you started off on anything that you feel like eating. Anyway, here it is- a classic coffee cake recipe. The cinnamon flavour really goes well with an afternoon cup of coffee. And really, what better way to spend a lazy summer afternoon? Enjoy!

Coffee cake recipe (Named as such not because of its presence in the ingredients, but because of how well the cake goes with it!)

Cake:
2 1/4 cups sifted all purpose flour
2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
3/4 cup butter or margarine
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 eggs 
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon lemon juice
3/4 cup milk
Topping:
6 tablespoons butter
1/3 cup sugar
4 1/2 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1/3 cup cake flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder

Sift all the dry ingredients for the cake into a bowl. Cream butter and sugar in a separate bowl until light and creamy. Add the eggs with an electric mixer and then add the dry ingredients. Finish mixing with the remaining ingredients and reserve 3/4 cup of batter for the topping. Bake  the cake in an 8 inch spring form pan in a preheated oven at 200 C for about 20 minutes or until it’s done.
For the topping, mix all the ingredients with the reserved 3/4 cup of batter. Pour this on top of the baked cake and return to the oven for an additional 15 minutes. Cool, cut, serve and enjoy!


Your comments mean a lot to me and I love reading each and every one of them. So don't be shy and leave your name as well :)

